Work can be your second home

in #life6 years ago (edited)

You know one of those times when you buy yourself a pair of shoes you really wanted, and you end up sleeping with them in the first night? Or you almost never want to wear them outside, because they look so cool and perfect that you don't wanna ruin them? Ah, so you know :)

inbed-louboutin-roses-jaunes.jpg
(picture taken from inbedwithmyshoes)

I know too

That's how I felt about my first pc. After ordering the parts for it, I slept on the mat in front of the door, since 5 in the morning till around 10, just to be sure that I hear the postman knocking at the door, delivering my promised treasure.

pic1.jpg

That was exactly one year ago. I'm not the same anymore...yeah right :) To this day, I feel the same pride. But it's not necessarily about the desk itself or the pc itself. It's about the journey that I've been through to get to this, about building my own little corner just like I wanted. A corner that I spend most of my days at, and do stuff that matter.

office1.jpg

office2.jpg

What I had before

My first desk was quite small. I was still a "starving" student and just moved in with my boyfriend, didn't have any furniture and this was the best we could piece together. I was happy with it for a quite long time, until I got serious about my work - finished university and started my own company.

oldoffice.jpg

The journey

I've worked exactly 171 hours to earn this. I've used almost 100 hours to search for the pc parts that would fit to what I needed, and even tortured my techy boyfriend into putting it together (I would have done a messy job otherwise). That process - building it, giving it life - it felt like building a second home :)

Planning how the lighting should go around my desk was a challenge too. Ordered 3 different lights on eBay, directly from China, not really verified if they are safe to use, but who gives a heck? We all have to start somewhere. One of them was good enough - 300 leds, 5 meters long, rgb colors, many options and effects to choose from, energy saving. Perfect. Until one day when the transformer for the lightstrip exploded under the desk, right next to my legs, and not just once. Had to shut down everything, unplug everything and get a grip on myself to find out what happened. Replaced the transformer, kept the light strip - solved.

IMG_20170325_231903.jpg

Doing stuff that matter

Are only done in a comfortable environment. Working from home (like me) can be hard sometimes, but working in an office is (in most cases) harder.

At an office there's someone else deciding where, how, when, how long and in what way you'll work. You have colleagues that might irritate, distract, gossip about you. You have to wake up every morning of the week and be there, even when you are not needed, even when you're not creative. You have to sit on that chair, at that desk you didn't like nor felt comfortable with from the beginning, but was forced to get used to it.

At home there's no one to stop you from falling into lazy mode, you need to discipline yourself, you're not surrounded by colleagues to socialize with, and that might make you feel a bit lonely. But if you can create an awesome work place/room and mood that you know you'll never have in an ordinary, outside office, will definitely lift your mental state. You'll feel that you respect yourself, treat yourself nice, like you deserve.

Tell me your story

I'd really like to hear some of your stories - your "evolution", making a change about your creative space, you name it. Happy Steeming and thank you all for reading this :)

Sort:  

You put together a beautiful place to work.

I'm always rearranging my office, trying to make things more comfortable, more efficient, more productive - as if eventually everything will be in just the right place and whole novels will fly up on the screen of their own accord! In truth I should probably spend less time rearranging the furniture and more time sitting in that chair.

But it is fun to feather our nests once in a while, isn't it?

Thank you @winstonalden :)

I think it's nice to always rearrange your office, if you think there's something to improve about it. While you're being productive :) Does rearranging increase your work efficiency?

I haven't rearranged much since I made this setup... excluding the continuous effort of keeping this desk clean, with as few stuff on it as possible. Sometimes that's really hard, especially when I'm working with lots of small electronics, task papers to remember where I'm at, 3D pen filaments, cables etc. etc. Aaand yep, sometimes I simply get lost in...cleaning! That's probably when you should say stop, and do something else for a little while, to clear your head. Right? :)

It does increase efficiency, for a bit. Until I get restless and have to move things around again!

Small electronics and 3D pen filaments? That sounds fascinating. What are you making? I'm going to have to dig into your feed.

Are you like those girls that use a lot of time deciding on the dress before they go out, although they'll look good either way? :) Rearranging can often inspire you, but there's a very thin line between that and complete distraction...or chaos... or OCD... or addiction to... short-term change :-D

My previous posts are mainly about paper art, design and some coding (animations). There's so many things to cover, that I couldn't yet find the time to post about electronics and 3D drawing...yet! But I'm preparing a few things this week :)

I can see you're much into tech, designing, and you write very well. Is this your full-time work or fo you do something specific?

I suppose I am a bit like those girls - but it's because I leave the house so rarely. Might as well look good when you do, right?

And you're like those boys who take pictures of their cool gaming equipment and post them online!

Right now I'm just writing - on here and with some projects bubbling away in the background. And when summer comes I help @donnadavisart with our AirBnB rental.

We'd love to learn more about 3D drawing. Donna has been talking about getting into that for some time. Also I'm going to send my niece @barracudadiaries your way - she's an avid quiller/paper-crafter!

Hah, well that makes sense :)

Oh no :)) I can't say anything smarter here!

Sounds good about your occupation. Please share some of your bubbly projects when you've finished then. I'm curious what that would be about (hmmm... bubbles?).

3D drawing is a.w.e.s.o.m.e. It takes a while before you get used to it, but it's better than any other form of art I've tried. I'll take a look at your niece's works shortly, thank you for sharing :)

Being in a tidy place just gives that wonderful sense of satisfaction. I can arrange and rearrange anytime just to feel different entering into the same place

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67