Winter Bike Restoration Project: HONDA XL 185cc (1981) 29,000 Miles (Bought on eBay for £700/$850)

in #life8 years ago (edited)

A lovely little lightweight bike at only 110 kg - and a lot of fun to ride!

A few scratches on the tank, but no major damage.

When the bike is fulled restored it'll be worth thousands of pounds/dollars.

Mileage reads 29,000 - not sure it that is genuine??

Headlamp needs a bit of work!

1981 model - only 2 listed on eBay in the UK - a rarity indeed. Tyre treads are excellent.

A very small 6V battery - need charging!

The opposite side of the tank is in excellent condition.

Overall, a lovely little bike that will make 3-4 fold its current value when resold next Spring. I hope you enjoyed the pics.

@mindhunter

Sort:  

Awesome - that is in amazing condition - back when I was at school in the 80's I was obsessed with Honda 4-strokes - I had quite a few, and got to the point where I could take out an engine and have it stripped down to the gearbox in half an hour (I was constantly breaking teeth off the gearbox cogs).

My favourite was a 1982 XR200RC which was the first bike I started racing on. Wasn't the fastest bike I ever had, but it was the most fun.

Fantastic to see an old bike in such good condition - brings back a lot of great memories.

Excellent photo - really enjoyed it! Thanks for posting ;-)

A honda is one of the few things I own. Mine is much newer and much larger than this one though! That was a good find. Good luck with your restoration.

I've had Fireblades and CBRs, but this is just so much fun to ride - she is so light! My CBR was nearly 200kg! TWICE the weight!

Mine is a 2006 CRF450R. Bought it used a few years ago. I had a XR200 before that, didn't like it much, too slow. I started on a 1985 Suzuki DS80 back in 1989. I'm not sure how I'd be able to survive a summer without a bike. I like the dirt and trails though. The way people drive out there, I'm not sure my heart can handle a street bike.

I had a 2014 CBR 600, but sold it, banked the cash and went for this little beauty instead ... she'll see me through the Winter months just fine ;)

I'm Canadian. All I can do is go to the garage and make sure my bike isn't lonely during the winter months. I'll still take it out in the snow, but the ground is so much harder in winter if you know what I mean.

I know what you mean! Bonnie Scotland is just as bad. All the pics were taken in my monster garage, so it keeps her from getting too lonely in the Winter months too ;)

That's a nice winter project! It looks like you have a decent shop for working on it, too. I have a 1988 Honda NX 250. It's a fun street legal and off-road bike.

Yeah, I got compressors, tools and everything I need for a cold Winters night at the restoration coal face ;-) Your Honda NX 250 sounds fun too!

Always do baby!

this little Honda looks wonderful man! I would recommend some brand new tires, Wonder if that would increase the value.

Going to buy some new wheels and spokes too! Total reconditioning mod mode!

Lucky man, Nice project. My neighbor and I are working on putting a 250 cc ninja motor on a Go-kart. Its turning out pretty cool. Cheers from Texas .

That sounds like fun too ... get the project up on here just like me :) Cheers for passing by from bonnie Scotland @commandojoe!

(some new springs too!)

(The guy wanted £800/$980 for it! Got it for £700/$850! BARGAIN!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43