How to Explain Spirituality In Society to a Five-Year-Old.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

The journey within


In philosophy there are as many explanations of spirituality as there are atoms in the universe, so to try and distil it down to one definition is an impossible task.

Spirituality has an almost etheric religious connotation to it, and for many may or may not include a God. Many people just believe it means listening to their inner souls via candle meditation or yoga.



Source


Moving past the physical body


Spirituality makes someone go inwards past the physical body and into the very spirit that is themselves. The spirit is outside time and is eternal - it makes an excellent source of wisdom for everyday life. One day our physical bodies will die, but our spirit will live on within the greater universe.

You can practice accessing the spirit with others in a community or all by yourself. Later this year I hope to attend an Ashram yoga school in Indian to learn how to become a yoga teacher and to learn how to fast properly - hello to @virtualgrowth if your reading this. All this work within is called inner growth.

The facets of spirituality are many and include:

  • Developing a personal philosophy for life.
  • Developing the access to the inner soul at anytime day or night.
  • Helping to aid our deeper relationships with others.
  • Aiding a values and moral system that becomes the very compass for our lives
  • Aiding forgiveness to those that need it, and helping them on their spiritual journey.

These facets will ultimately decide the overall quality of life that we experience. Many of these can be developed with interacting on Steemit with other spiritually minded Steemians. My own soul has learnt much on here. The race to become the kindest and most compassionate people that we can possibly be goes onwards ....

Love to all Steemian spirits, and Steem on!

@mindhunter


Sort:  

Yes I found my name!; Do I get a prize!?
Spirituality In Society?
Spirit may be life itself. Not in society but more outside of society. Wonder of this spirituality myself, the perfect size of society, and so much more.
My spirit is nothing and I know nothing. Always live to learn and simply be.

Your prize is enlightenment from reading this article ;) Ha ha!

Ha ha! Love the enlightenment (666?). :)

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Many thanks @screenname - your so close to 20K posts now!!

Interesting post my friend. [:

As both an avid philosophical scholar and a STEM enthusiast, I have found that my favorite explanation for what "spirituality" means is simply each individuals life journey and experience. It corroborates well between those two positions I hold very close.

I do find some differences that we have however.
The first is that I cannot accept the substance dualism or monism approach to the mind or "spirit". What theistic/supernatural spiritualists call the "soul" is what non-theistic spiritualists call the "conscious". The function is so strikingly similar that it is astonishing.

These are also functionally similar to personality psychology with a few minor tweaks. :^)

-Developing a personal philosophy for life.
-Developing a healthy relationship with the subconscious
-Helping to aid the deeper relationships within ourselves and to others.
-Aiding a value system based on ethics and principles to help us move forward.
-Teaching the proper tools of understanding, and realizing the journey you are on is not so different from others; what is called the "Sonder" experience.

I love the term 'consciousness' as per your term also, as I'm a huge neuroscience fan. I tend to flit between the two :) Apologies!

Haha, no need to apologize. Just me being a nit-picky person. ;P

Thanks for all your great comments today. I hope we meet again in other posts @semantralist :) Steem on my friend!!

I read a book that was fantastic called Empathetic Civilization The Race To Global Consciousness In A World in Crisis. It talks about this very thing (moving to a kinder being) and how we are wired as much for empathy as we are for competition. He talks a lot about how the human narrative we currently hold was formed and how it is currently evolving and more importantly how it is essential to our survival as a species. I will post an RSA to this book as a little trailer below.

Quantum mechanics now has us a frozen frequencies of light all sharing the quantum field as one, so were all more truly linked together than we think we are :) I am the chair, the house, the everything!!

I think Freud talked about this in Civilization and It's Discontents. He referred to it as an "oceanic feeling". Of course, that is borrowing from a Buddhist perspective (I talk a little about this is my latest blog. Yes, I finally got around to posting again. Thank you for the prompt!!). Also the Stoics had a rudimentary idea of this as well as they felt everything was composed of pneuma but organized differently. Singularity??

Right ... off to your timeline I go Kobie! ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61821.96
ETH 2402.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57