A @mindhunter Question: All Childhoods Teach Us Something. They Teach Us To Awaken. What Were You Taught?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Sort:  

P.S. Thanks to @drago18121996 for the question. Va bene!

I was brought up as Catholic when I was a child. Went to Catholic Primary & Secondary Schools. Church once a week.
Today I am not very religious. I do not read the bible or attend church anymore. (I stopped this once I left Secondary School)
Sometimes I stop to think about my childhood growing up Religious. Was it just forced upon me because of my Parents wanting this for me.
I don't remember as a child believing in the stories of the Bible. I guess I just thought of them as the same type of stories I would be read to as a bedtime story. i.e Roald Dahl books
And in Secondary School they would teach us Religion, but also Greek Mythology. But would tell us to believe in the Bible, but that Greek Mythology were all made up stories.

But when I look back now, I feel Religious upbringing has taught me the ways of life.
How to be kind & care for each other.
Try to see the good in one another
Try to trust people
Being a Manager in Retail. With most of the Employees being Students, finding I have to show people there is a future for them.
Show them that these small part time jobs are there to gain experience, confidence & knowledge for their future careers. Not just about earning money

I'm not against religion - the Catholic faith provides some great guidelines for life I believe. I believe in many of them myself, but I'm not a Catholic. Thanks for sharing that @ghostwriter82 :)

I am not against Religion either. Yes there are some great teachings within all forms on Religions.
Majority of the time it is down to the individual on how they read the teachings. Then use these teachings in the real world

Agreed @ghostwriter82 ... one of my favourites is Shinto :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62912.13
ETH 2544.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84