Stay safe steemit: Drowning doesn't always look like drowning

in #life7 years ago

Hi folks!

The last few days here in England have been beautiful! In fact, this might be the best weather I've experienced in 20+ years here. 

The picture above is of West Wittering beach, which is a lovely sandy beach I like to visit now and then. However, I am glad I didn't try this weekend!

 

According to the newspaper article I  took this pic from, 5000 people tried to cram into the car park on Saturday! There was also some really sad news - someone got into difficulty in the water and passed away. 

I was on Twitter this evening and came across a sobering article about drowning, and how to tell if someone is in difficulty.  I'm clearly no expert on this, but I think the article is really worth a read.  The post is written by  a man who seems to have a lot of experience. 

Before reading this I would have said that it should be obvious if someone is struggling.  However, it seems that this isn't always the case. There is a poem by Stevie Smith called 'Not waving but drowning', which has stuck in my mind since childhood. Perhaps that is where  I got the idea?

It has certainly made me think differently - I will pay much more attention next time I'm at the beach. 

Have a safe summer steemit!




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58110.30
ETH 2687.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30