You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 24 hours without surfing

in #life7 years ago

So, my update. I did go for the full 24 hours without surfing, but opened my browser in the evening to watch Netflix. In the morning, I realised that deciding which apps did/didn't count was more difficult than I'd expected. I decided that Twitter and Instagram were out, but Spotify, my banking app and other applications I use regularly were 'in'. I wanted to look up information about travel and housing, and realised that without the internet I was completely lost. This experiment has really helped me to get some clarity about what I mean/need when I think about a 'digital detox'. Mindful, conscious use of the internet and digital world is important. Mindless, unconscious surfing feels like avoidance or possibly even a numbing behaviour. I think the problem for me is that I start off going online for a clear purpose, but it's so easy to get distracted. If nothing else, this experiment has made me much more conscious of my own approach and behaviours...now I have to figure out if there is anything I want to change...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12