The devastating effects of excessive washing of the skinsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I don't know for why, but the pimples on the face are associated with greasy food and poor hygiene.
Even I have lived believing this misconception for a while.

When I was a kid, elders told me to stop munching on burgers and snacks so that pimples on my face would stop forming.
It was either that or, or "you don't wash your face enough".

And then the disturbed teenager that I was that just hit puberty started to wash his face 10 times a day with the most ordinary soap.
However, things got even worse. My face looked like I 've washed it with a wasp nest.

Naturally, my aunt's friend's sister told my mother that she used a mild pH-neutral soap and that it helped her. It was not a half hour since she found out about this information, and my mother comes into my room with an incredible pH-neutral mild soap, convinced that it will solve my red spotted problem.

Now, you explain to me how this softer milder soap will help me when this strong, ordinary soap didn't.
Of course, I asked my mother this question, and the answer was: "Don't be a smartass."

Untitled design (2).png

Fair enough.
But now that I've became a smartass, let me explain that in most cases persistent and unnecessary washing of the face can only aggravate the situation.

Humans are currently the most perfect organisms on the planet. This means that there is rarely anything in or on our body there for no reason. It's the same with the skin and all its glands.
They are there for a reason.
Even sebum that is on the surface is there for good reason.

This reason is protection. This oily sebum is another protective layer that protects the skin against external factors such as high temperature, bacteria, dry air, etc.

So why can sebum cause acne and pimples? Because in certain conditions it can be produced in an abnormal amount. So abnormal that it will simply clog the canals of the glands and form acne. You can read more about this in our article about acne.

But why not wash excessively?
Because the organism is smart. Washing removes this protective grease layer. Since the organism is smart, it notices that there is no fatty layer so the glands of the skin start to produce fat even more. You get rid of it again, the glands go even harder to produce fat and we enter a circle.

Why this isn't good? It's not because it will almost inevitably lead to blockage of the gland and acne if we are persistent in this maltreatment of the epidermis. That's why my face got worse from using the most ordinary soap.

But not only will the acne appear, but the skin will also deteriorate, lose moisture and its elastic properties and will VERY LIKELY BE INFECTED.

Untitled design (3).png

Soap. Incredible.

We don't say that we should ignore personal hygiene and stop washing. That's stupid. But even more stupid is letting personal fears to drive our organism into a disease. If you have problematic skin, seek the advice of a dermatologist. Do not wash 10 times a day and find a mild face soap (pharmacies or better-equipped stores).

Such soaps really have a less destructive effect on the skin and will really relieve the condition, if you use everything within normal limits.

If you see any benefits in this article please upvote. If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

Sort:  

Congratulations @miljan993! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts. Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68