Mirrors

in #life7 years ago (edited)

There’s lime scale at the bottom of the black plastic glass that holds my toothbrush. I should clean it out but it does no harm. It’s not dirt or goo, just water mineral deposits. I sometimes wonder if my housemate looks in there and thinks it’s filthy. And if he thinks that it’s an eyesore on the shiny white basin on which the black plastic glass lives…

When I get home from work in the afternoons the house is quiet. When I’m alone I always end up in the kitchen after taking off my coat and hanging it on the coat stand by the front door. A while later I find myself standing against the kitchen counter. Waking up from a, somewhat, unconscious state. I’ve been contemplating. Random thoughts. My senses shut off from the world around me. At times, I like living within myself. The quietness is hypnotic…

I don’t have a mirror in my room and we have none throughout our house, except for in the bathroom. I sometimes stand in front of it, water dripping down my face. I stare at my reflection in the mirror that is slowly being covered by the hot steam in the bathroom. And search. Not for blackheads or imperfections. But for the meaning of something. Or something with meaning…

After a while I brush my teeth. I should clean out the lime scale deposits in the plastic glass. I feel better about everything after reflecting in the kitchen or in the bathroom. It gives me a boost. Even though I’ve made sense of nothing…

CO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91