You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Power of Emotional Intelligence - The tool that will set you apart from others

in #life7 years ago

"Treat others like you want to be treated" - it's a good way to start with when you want to start working on your EQ. Doing that is much more challenging, but very rewarding in a long run.

However, EQ is like fire. It's good when you use it for good things. But it's terrible when it gets out of control. There is a very fine line between someone who truly makes the people around themselves happy and someone who uses they EQ to manipulate other people to benefit from it. Knowing how to influence people and lead them is a very powerful skill and it has to be used for good. Like when Gandalf didn't want to ring, because he was worried that the ring would start controlling him.

The most difficult thing for me is to find a right balance between managing (I'm not saying controlling on purpose) my emotions and purely reacting. My therapist says that I usually keep the emotions under the hood and that's why I have moments when I feel more anxious or depressed. So a part of improving my EQ was to learn to show the emotions.

Great post as usual :)

Sort:  

Awww! Thanks so much for sharing this with me! I completely agree with you on that one. Its a tough world because yes as you said there as a lot of people who use it to their advantage to benefit themselves. Its rare that I meet people that are completely in control of their emotions. Its a long process:P But im glad your therapist helped you with that. :) xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60140.74
ETH 2559.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54