(Part 1) Shavon & Samuel's Saint Croix Destination Wedding

in #life6 years ago

There's always at least one song I associate every wedding I shoot. In this case there are over 10. Throughout the wedding I was Shazamming tons of songs as they were songs I've never heard before. The particular song I used for Shavon and Sam's destination wedding in Saint Croix is "All of Me" by Jah Cure.

This was the song playing on the radio as I was in a cab heading back to the resort from the rehearsal dinner. Truth be told I was pretty tired that evening as I had to get up at 5am and hop on 2 flights to get to Saint Croix. On top of that the shuttle from the airport had no air conditioning - which drained what little energy I had left.

I really didn't want to go as I just wanted to crash and get ready for the next day. But Shavon reminded me what I told her. And that was "weddings are just one giant party and you have to live every moment". She got me there so I couldn't say no - LOL.

I'm glad I went as I got to meet some of her friends and family. I make the best effort to ingratiate myself with everyone when it comes to shooting weddings and portraits. That way I build their trust and they will feel more comfortable with me shooting their photos.

I'm going on a bit of a tangent (lol) as I wanted to share the slideshow I created for them. I have more blog posts and videos to share with you guys from the Andrew's destination wedding in the near future so be sure to come back soon!

HUGS!

Mikey Colon
🌍 www.colonphoto.com
🖥 [email protected]
📞 917-703-0346

I’m available in New York City, Boston & worldwide!

STEEMIT_PLUG

Posted from my blog - check out colonphoto.com for more!

Sort:  

Never in my 60-something years-of-age have I heard of a "destination wedding." Is that some new term to refer to a wedding that is held in some exotic location, perhaps?

Lovely photos in the video collage! Great job on those shots! 😊

Its trending new thing for modern gene...

Posted using Partiko Android

Doesn't have to necessarily be exotic - just somewhere "not home" and typically far from home. But I prefer exotic!

Dang dude, you are talented, those were well timed and framed shots. It probably helped to have a couple who were so obviously in love and a beautiful destination for the wedding. Beautifully and tastefully done. I loved the emotional shots from the ceremony, I just have the feeling that was little brother reading something from a father who had passed on....
Just out of curiosity what software are you using for processing, I'm trying to expand my repertoire?
Congrats on the curie vote those are always awesome too...

I appreciate the kind words and you stopping by! They were a great couple to work with as it helps to have a photographer you get along with. If my sister in law (who shall remain nameless) was my photographer I'd probably have an annoyed look on my face on half the pictures! 😡

As for the young man that said a few words during the ceremony that's the bride's son from a previous relationship. The groom didn't cry until he heard his words. Jacari stole the show and everyone was a mess!

As for software I use adobe Lightroom for 98% of my edits and cataloging. I've created a few videos that will help you. You can go here: https://vimeo.com/album/5247123 and watch episode 5 and 4. As I'm writing this I just remembered I have to upload episodes 5-9.

Thanks again for your support and if I can be of any assistance let me know as I like to pay things forward as other people have helped me learn photography throughout the years!

✌️

Thank you for the awesome reply, I can imagine the young man did steal the show, I have a son myself, who's father has always been absent.
Those are really awesome videos, The macro photography video was really awesome, I loved the white flash blender behind the flower. That was a moment of genius, and makes the possibilities almost endless with background manipulation.
Have you posted any of these on D.tube or in posts on steemit?
D.tube has an account that will sometimes hit highquality videos with some pretty good upvotes. Plus you can add a vemeo or youtube link incase it doesn't play well.

No worries - my pleasure! Children with fathers is kind of rare nowadays - well at least in my experience.

Thanks for the kind words regarding the videos. The beauty of photography is anyone can learn. Yes I am aware of DTube and I share videos there. After a while sometimes the videos disappear and it can be kind of buggy - which is why I shared the Vimeo link with you.

Thanks for the tip though! I have had some nice payouts, and some didn't do too well.

I hope you had a nice weekend and stay in touch! ✌️

Congratulations @mikeycolon! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

WOW! What a beautiful wedding!
Great shots! 😍 You are very talented! 😀

I wonder of there is a cure for weddings

In all the weddings photos, I have seen over my many long years, yours have to be the best and most creative! You brought out the best in the bride and groom on their special day. I am glad that @steemitbloggers introduced your blog to me!

First I'd like to say that flattery gets you everywhere with me! 😜

But seriously - I'm humbled by your comments and I appreciate you taking the time to leave a lovely comment. ✌️

A John Legend Original with a reggae twist... nice
And what lovely shots for a beautiful wedding 😊

Thanks - it was super fitting as we were in the Caribbean and the song has that island vibe.

What beautiful photos! You captured so much love (and playfulness!) and fun. It looks like a beautiful time and you did a fabulous job putting it into photos!!!

Thanks! Several times when I ask a couple to do something silly - they look at me like I'm crazy. But once they see the images they have an "ah ha" moment and see what I was aiming for.

As a sidenote I tell my couples that taking awesome photos requires a bit of "acting". Plus sometimes during a wedding day someone in the couple might be annoyed at something and it's my job to make them snap out of it or - fake being happy for a few shots.

What a neat way to make a living, weddings are usually real happy and festive occasions, makes for a great work environment.

It is - once everything has wrapped up. There's a lot of moving parts as a photographer to make sure everything goes out without a hitch. When something goes wrong people come to us as we've "been there done that".

On top of that we're like counselors as emotions run high, things go wrong and it's my job to help everyone keep calm while making them feel and look beautiful.

The counseling part is probably the toughest part of the job would be my guess.

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68245.80
ETH 2509.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52