The Importance of Having an Organized WorkspacesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

I don't often eat at my desk, but I just brought a grapefruit over. Yes it's past 4AM where I'm at and yes I eat a lot of fruit. Don't judge me.

My point is that I barely had enough room to place a grapefruit somewhere near me without risking getting the citrus juiciness over any paperwork. And I have just recently cleaned my desk! Already in days I have a stack of business cards, some receipts, index cards and post-its laying about for different purposes that I just haven't organized. Most are just waiting for my meticulous personality to enter the data into the computer and call it a day. Forgot to mention I even have various random notes or thoughts written on a piece of mail sitting here from no less than 3 months ago.

My average in life is to be very organized. Lately I've been taking on too many projects and letting my work and living space get disorganized and thus my life is a little scattered and I'm spreading myself thin.

A 2013 article from a woman at Business Insider briefly claims that a messy desk is better for thinking at the beginning of a project. I call bullshit. If my desk is clean, I have all that available space to keep any task at hand organized, and to think clearly and focused on what I need to do. Sometimes it's strictly physical, can I type properly with some paperwork under my wrists that annoyingly tickles me and reminds me how I have failed to put things away in their proper place?

Cleaner feels healthier because it allows less stress and reducing that scatterbrain feeling we may get just by looking at a dirty area that needs work. How can we focus ON work if our workspace NEEDS work itself? This just adds extra work or an extra task in the back of our mind the whole time we're trying to work on what's really important. I just read a great post from bullishmoney about how stress kills. It definitely does. When I have a clean desk I feel more relaxed and can take my work nice and steady. When I have a messy desk I feel rushed because, even if I finish the work I'm attempting, I have a desk to clean after!

What a clean desk can provide for you:

More efficient work

Better mental clarity, reducing stress and anxious thoughts

More easily find the physical paperwork you need

Have room to spare when you need it around your computer workstation

I hope you find this advice useful and that it motivates me to follow it myself. Have a great day (or night or morning) Steemians!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mikeparker! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post. Followed you. Please follow me.

congrats on 300+ followers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60626.97
ETH 3358.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45