It's November and I'm thankful!

in #life6 years ago

“Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.” —William Arthur Ward

Thanksgiving season is here, I'm not one for state sponsored holidays, as one might imagine, but it is the thought that count and any encouragement of healthy behavior can't be frowned upon too much. I know there's probably a large portion of the population that may skim past the idea of being thankful and move right onto buying stuff. For those that do take the time to be thankful, you are a great deal better off.

autumn-2898551_1280.jpg

This is more a reminder to myself than an attempt to express some wisdom to others but I figured I'd throw it out there.

Life is hard at times and during those times it's easy to get bogged down in the day to day frustrations and difficulties.

Much like deep sand is to a motocross rider. If you go slow and get bogged down, it just gets worse.

When I was first learning to race motorcycles at the age of 6 there was a particular track outside of Medaryville Indiana we used to go to often. The first turn was heavy deep sand and most of the front straight away after. On one occasion, I got the holeshot going into the first turn and then hit the sand. I bobbled and by the time I made it to the end of the first straightaway I was a half a lap behind. I was afraid of falling, I felt I had to keep my feet out to keep the motorcycle upright... but to do that I had to go slow. Sinking further into the sand.

22810160_1512405018805163_1588662672_o.jpg

I recalled my father's advice when dealing with sand... "Lean back and put most of your weight on the rear tire and gas it full throttle! Balance yourself on the rear and let the front float over the sand." The second lap, I tried to keep the throttle wide open but it was too scary and a went back to my old method. Needless to say I was disappointed with the race results.

Take note, this is one of those times that it's either put it all in or don't even try. One has to have confidence or it's not going to go well. I struggled with that. I tried a little and seeing no better results, my confidence dropped. I was caught in one of those downward spirals. However, my father's words made me aware and I started to observe the other riders. What were they doing to go so fast? It was indeed what my father had described. I continued to try but still continued to fail.

I went back to my father and asked for his help. I was doing what he said. I was doing what the other riders were. It wasn't working for me!

He was a busy man, he not only worked a regular job, but also owned a motorcycle shop, he raced himself, and seemed to always be available to help others. When other riders broke a part or needed a tire. It was my father who they came to first. He seemed to be always prepared to deal with any problem.

Regardless, he did take the time to work with me. As he watched me struggle I can only imagine the thoughts he had but there was another piece of advice he gave that seemed to put it all together. He asked "Where are you looking?"(he had observed and knew but he wanted me to understand) I pointed to a place right in front of my front tire. He knelt beside me and explained "You need to keep your head up and your eyes far out ahead... look to the end of the straightaway." He probably added more technical details like the centrifical force of the wheels... as they rotate faster the centrifical force makes them want to stay moving in one direction... but being I saw others listening to his advice attentively, I believed the information was valid.

I again attempted to do as he said but I would find myself slipping up, my eyes would go back down and even if I had built up some speed, my weight would shift and I'd end up losing control. My confidence sank. But I was more aware. I watched the other riders... Yet again, he was correct. I continued to practice.

It may have been weeks or even months later before I finally built up the confidence to actually hold the throttle on full, lean back, balance on the rear tire and keep my head up and eyes out ahead. It was one of those learning to ride a bike moments. I had dreaded dealing with sand. It seemed to take all the fun out of the experience. But conquering it, learning to no longer see it as a obstacle that I couldn't beat, was transformational. That was a big part of my understanding of freedom... overcoming limiting constraints.

cross-1684953_1280.jpg

This leads me back to my original idea. Being thankful.

As one might take away from this story, I grew up pushing the limits and continued it as an adult. I saw it as fun, exciting and rewarding. As well as, to some degree, my duty to be free. But in a society of "normal" I've been the exception and not always welcome. I've sought out a life where I could push the limits and thankfully, I've found my place. I'm currently learning my way through another difficult period. I'm bumping my head against things I may not clearly understand or aren't familiar with but I'm very thankful to have people around me who, just as my father did long ago, took the time to give me advice and help when I needed it.

I'm keeping my head up, looking ahead and I'm on the gas. Full throttle!

I appreciate your time and attention. I hope you found this useful.

Sort:  

Nice post. If you've not yet seen it, check out the documentary 'Unchained' about the history of freestyle motocross. You can really see how indomitable some of those guys spirits are. It's on Netflix. Since you've raced I believe you'll really enjoy it. I've never ridden motocross or anything close to it, and it's one of my favorite sports documentaries ever.

Thanks. I'll look into it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97