Why I don't get out on July 4th often

in #life7 years ago

 Some of you know me and know that I usually don't like to do much on July 4th. Some of you know why and some probably don't care. But for me, this day is always a hard one. 12 years ago on this date, the greatest man I've ever known lost his battle with cancer. He taught me what it meant to be a man and a father. It's because of him that I have a drive to always better myself and provide the best life I can for my wife and children.I figured this year I should try to do something different and actually get out of the house. Thank you Traci and Ernesto for inviting me. I thought I might actually make it through this day without it getting to me. Then out of nowhere it hits me. And now I'm inside by myself taking a minute to myself trying to compose myself and hold back this overwhelming flood of emotion that hit me.

Dad, I just want to let you know I love you and not a day goes by that I don't think of you and miss you being in my life and my kids lives.

Sort:  

Congratulations @mikeoftulsa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57654.82
ETH 2888.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60