hoary marmot

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I like to travel and especially to the mountains. Last autumn, I and my brother, we climbed one of the mountain peaks in the Canadian Rockies it called Moose Mountain -its one of the easiest hikes(8000 FT). On our way down from the top of the mountain I noticed a strange animal, which I never saw before. We come up closer to him and took some pictures. Then I found out that it was hoary marmotDSC_0914.JPG
It is the largest North American ground squirrel and is often nicknamed "the whistler" for its high-pitched warning issued to alert other members of the colony to possible danger. The animals are sometimes called "whistle pigs. The hoary marmot inhabits mountainous environments from sea level to 2,500 metres (8,200 ft) elevation, through much of Alaska, western Canada, and the extreme northwest of the contiguous United States.! Wikipedia DSC_0924.JPGDSC_0930.JPGDSC_0870.JPG


Don"t forget to follow if you like it! @mikegun

Sort:  

I misread horny marmot. Ha ha
Great pics

It's funny))

Nice view and a nice find with the ground squirrel!

Thank you customnature!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83