You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are you accountable? Are you responsible? They are not the same thing you know...

in #life7 years ago

Thank you for post, which was very interesting to read.

I work a lot with Integrity, Truth and Discernment which I believe are the foundation for a good, caring, empathic and peaceful society - which we don't have, so those qualities are obviously missing from the foundation of humanity!

I really value your post and the message you are spreading and I totally agree with your comments, but I did keep feeling that a big issue is that people / companies have be responsible without having integrity. In fact, their aim can be totally out of integrity as we have seen with the big oil companies wanting to bulldoze through land, pollute rivers and people's water supplies so they can have greater profits. They have responsibility to do this damage, but it is so out of integrity.

I mention this to raise awareness that responsibility is actually neutral. You can be responsible to do good or evil, so people do need to question when they are being given orders from authority as to whether they should carry out that order, and ask is this moral?

Police, governments, corporations, justice systems should all be working with integrity, but that is not always the case, so when they aren't then we need to question whether we blindly 'do as we are told' or question the system.

Thanks again for you post and congratulations on becoming a witness, I will definitely vote for you!

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for putting so much effort into your reply! I agree responsibility is "nuetral" as describe. I may not have made that clear enough and your additional insight is helpful to support my assertions.

Responsibility is more or less just the assignment of execution. Accountability is more or less how you manage the aftermath of the execution. So while you are totally not wrong, I also wasn't really focused on right or wrong of the type of things people are responsible for or the right or wrongness of their responsive accountability but rather the difference between the two things of responsibility vs accountability.

Thanks for reading thoughtfully and replying in the same fashion! And definitely thank you for the witness vote! I really need those so I can help be responsible for the block chain, and I will be accountable to my voters and the community always!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54