This series of stories will be titled ‘I’m surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood…’ 3

in #life7 years ago

My father used to work down the local mine and he’d tell me stories of his pit pony. There were two ponies, inseparable like brothers. Pip and Punch were their names.

Pit ponies were allowed up the pit once or maybe twice a year. Sometimes they had the summer off and I used to love going to visit them, just a short walk away from the pit rows where we lived. (Check out the map a little further down. The ponies were kept in a field between The Ridge and the next, untitled, road. The field ran alongside our route.)


Source

If I remember, (maybe I’m wrong on this… I was very young) Punch was a piebald and Pip was black.


Source

Punch was a bit of a rogue. He once backed up hard and fast, trapping a man between him and a trolley, breaking the man’s leg. As my father told the tale, it would appear that the man didn’t like horses and regularly abused the ponies. Seems like Punch had had enough and took his revenge. Punch got a bit of a reputation after that and only a select few men wanted to work with him

The ponies knew their way around underground – hardly surprising because that’s where they spent the vast majority of their lives. They usually had one handler and would sometimes be a little put-out if their routine changed (again, I could be mistaken, these are memories from a very long time ago).

It was a hard and harsh life for the pit ponies. No sunlight, no fresh grass, hard work day-in, day-out and only Christmas and sometimes summer to feel the fresh breeze on their faces.


Source

My grandad went to see the ponies once. He was no great animal lover I’m afraid. He tried his best to appear nonchalant while he was close to the ponies and he even got up the courage to lean against one.

Unfortunately, the pony sneezed and scared my grandad. He leaped out of his skin, almost. As a pure reaction, he grabbed a bucket of water and doused the pony. Poor pony!

Every Saturday, we’d walk up the hill to the next village where my mother’s mother lived. Because I was the eldest, I was expected to walk all the way up the hill. My little legs did not like it at all!


Google Maps

I remember resenting my brother who was allowed to ride on the pram. He’d sit on a seat, much like this one:

One day, on the way home, I was complaining so much that my mother caught a frog and put it in a matchbox for me, in an attempt to stop the complaining. It got away a few times because I kept looking at it. She had to keep catching it and it must have extended our journey home by a good half-an-hour.

“It got away again!” I shouted and she caught it, put it back in the matchbox and told me not to open it again until we got home.

When I finally opened the matchbox, there were two little frogs inside it.

Well, they all look alike, don’t they?

*Pictures from Pixabay or Google Images unless stated.

Sort:  

I worked 30 years down the pit but never came across a pit pony. I remember the last 4 being released from Ellington Colliery in 1994. The last one died in 2011 aged 40. I did go underground at Blackwell Colliery in 1983 to install pumps. This was 24 years after mining at stopped.

This was back in the 60s. You were a little lad then :)

We should remember childhood because our childhood can not be repeated again.
The story we once had with childhood, both to the father and to the mother, the memory is not forgotten, whatever the story. Whether the story is true or the story is a lie. Because at that time (small) we can not know what is right and what is wrong.
thank you @michelle.gent
Considering my childhood return.

The story isn't a lie on my part. I write what I remember, so you're exactly right :)

Thank you

However, we are not aware when our busy and daily routines have forgotten them. Of the many friends you currently have, remember you with a friend in your childhood first? Do you still meet often, or are you and he no longer as familiar as ever? Do you realize they are actually your most precious treasure?

I don't see many friends from then. Certainly not on a regular basis.

My most precious treasures are my husband, his parents, my children and their significant other, and my grandchildren (including step-grandchildren).

Nice and good post, beautiful pictures. @naz722

Thank you. I try to find pictures that relay the story.

good luck 🙏🏻

Good Luck to you too.

nice story @michelle.gent..i like ur blog i see it now mostly articles are good...keep it up always

Thank you... mostly good? ;)

I love this post @michelle.gent and it really throws back the years. Those poor pit ponies, working tirelessly, just like the pit workers. Great photo of the ponies and the elevator. How times have changed.

Thank you. I'm enjoying the trip down memory lane as it were... although times were hard, there was a community in the little villages.

I bet Mich and it was enjoyable reading your article. Bring back the community spirit.

Congratulations @michelle.gent! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks, @michelle.gent for the trip down memory lane. I find the older I get, the more I enjoy those trips...

Haha! So do I... for the most part :) Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50