This series of stories will be titled 'I'm surprised I turned out as well as I did, given my childhood ...' 20

in #life7 years ago

I have always loved animals – not just cats, dogs and horses – but all animals. I can find something to be fascinated with in any animal – I always could.

The thing is… animals seem to be ok with me too. Whether that’s because they see me as a ‘friend’, one who would do them no harm, or whether it’s because I’m not jittery or nervous around them, who knows?

After we moved from the rows, to a social housing estate (Council house), my grandmother loaned my father the money to buy a car so he could get a job.

My father took a job as an insurance salesman. The guy that went round from house to house on a weekly rotation, knocking on doors, collecting money because back in those days, there was no instalments for such things. Back then, if you didn’t have the money up front to pay for house insurance, then you either didn’t have any insurance or you needed the services of such a man that sells weekly-paid for insurance.

One particular day, in the summer break, my mother insisted my father take me with him on his usual round.

Whether that decision was made because I was a little too much for her to handle, I was getting into way too much trouble, or because, as I later realised, he was suspected of being less than appropriate with one of his clients.

I did ask why I was coming along for the ride, and the explanation was:

“Last week, I got back to the car and some kid was sitting in the driver’s seat, playing at driving.”

itok=x_jLzrPw

A plausible enough explanation you may think, apart from the fact that he could easily have locked the doors and prevented the incident.

I accepted that explanation but my mind was working on it – that’s what my mind does.

So, we went on this road trip and we stopped at a housing estate, in as poor an area as the one we had lived on when we lived on the rows, or possibly worse.

A woman greeted my father and looked at me with deep suspicion. He told her I was his kid and he was taking me with him for the day.

We went inside the house and I remember it was very similar to the one we’d moved from.

The woman had a large greyhound and a couple of kids. I was sent outside to play in the dirt-patch she called a ‘garden’.

I don’t know how long they were conducting their business, I was too busy playing and making friends.

When he came out of the house, I stood up and he placed his hand on my head to indicate we were ready to leave.

Well, he almost placed his hand on my head. The greyhound took a dislike to him trying to touch me and snapped at him.

I cannot remember how old I was, but I do remember that greyhound. A black and white dog with a big, broad collar. The animal was sleek and beautiful and it wanted to protect me.

My father had visited the house before and the dog knew him, but it had taken a ‘shine’ to me for some reason.


I recall one instance when an animal took a dislike to me and reacted nastily. There have been a few and mostly they were ponies…

I used to go to a riding stables every Sunday morning. The stables are still there but I haven’t been back in a while.

We would follow the girl taking us out and we would ride in a line along a busy road (insanity, it’s a wonder none of us were in an accident). When we got to the park, there were a few places we could have a canter (if we could get the pony to ‘go’ of course). That’s where being a regular helped, I got to know which ponies were most likely to canter easily and I’d choose that one.

Twice around the park track and then back to the busy road to make our way to the stable. The ponies perked up a little when they were on their way home and we’d sometimes get chance to practice trotting too.

My grandmother took me, paid for an hour’s riding and then fetched me back a few hours later. That meant I could have an hour’s hack around the park AND get to fuss ponies – Heaven!

The ponies were all miss-matched, funny-shaped and sometimes downright ugly, but I didn’t care, they were ponies and I love ponies!

One day, all the stalls were occupied and one of the ponies needed to be held for a little while, until the next hack went out. The pony in question was small, black with white flecks, a couple of white socks and an unfortunate ‘wall-eye’ – his name was Wally, named for that eye.

“Can you hold Wally in the stall, please?” one of the bigger girls asked. “But be careful, the horse next to him doesn’t like him and may bite him.”

I took Wally, the wall-eyed pony into the stall and stood talking to him.

Sure enough, the big, Roman-nosed horse in the next stall leaned over and tried to bite Wally.

I pushed the horse’s nose away so he couldn’t take a chunk out of poor Wally.

The big grey (white) horse leaned over again and went for poor Wally. I have no idea what Wally had done to make this horse loathe him so much, but I stopped him biting, every time he tried.

Then the big horse changed tactics. He leaned over and as I went to push his nose away from Wally, he changed direction and took a bite at my face.

Luckily, horses don’t have a capacity to bite well and his teeth scraped my skin rather than digging in and taking out a chunk of flesh.

Don’t get me wrong, it bloody hurt, but it only grazed me rather than cutting my face.

Sort:  

Great story, good content, and well written too. Such a rarity these days. Upvoted for you.

Thank you. That's very kind of you to say :)

super post. i upvote you. follow me. thanks

Thank you.

I've always loved animals ever since I was a child. I grew up with both cats and dogs and had an amazing collie/shephard mix when I was young. He was a really gentle, loving dog but i still have a scar on my wrist from when he clawed me as a young boy, although it was my fault for holding his snout closed haha

Ah, yes... they don't like the snout thing, do they? ;)

I can't remember a time when I didn't have animals in my life. I guess I've been lucky :)

Well, I'm glad u didn't get hurt. I relate, as most #animals have an AFFINITY for me, as well. I happily did volunteer work for a few yrs, helping dogs/cats to get adopted; sometimes I even housed them for a little while, if need be

Nice little tale you wrote. Actually read the whole bit (100%) ☻☻
ENJOYED. (Now will follow you) - keep yr Stories coming

Thank you!

I'm pleased you enjoyed my story. I do love animals and I think you're awesome for working to ensure they were safe and re-homed.

Thanks for saying so

I love animals too. In fact, I have dogs, cats, rabbit, horses, cows, and chicken on our old house back in the farm. What I learn about these animals is, they sense how much you care them. And that will link to other animals, I observe these because almost all dog waggled its tail everytime I pass to the

Yes, I think they do have a sense of a person's love for them :)

great,,
nice picture

Thank you :)

Very good story, especially when the topic of animals and nature, I congratulate :)

Thank you. I'm enjoying writing these memories and as I do, more come to the fore :)

Ponies can be mean and nasty little devils.M y father bought us one when we younger. I think it had to be the nastiest animal I had ever come across. You'd try to take him out of the stall and he would squeeze you against the wall. He'd bite when you tried to groom him. And trying to saddle him was a nightmare...

Yep. I know one pony that jumped like a dream. It made a good rider out of anyone that rode him because if ever you fell off, it would kick you to death if it could!

Interesting post. Following and upvoted and thanks again for following! :)

Thank you :)

I love all animals, and love hearing stories about them - thank you, this brought back some lovely "pet memories" today. xox

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56