Happy Christmas! – Too Soon? - Crafting techniques - Beyond Basics

in #life7 years ago

It’s not too soon if you’re a crafter (apparently). Christmas cards are being prepared as I type (not by me, obviously…)

Another wonderful magazine, filled with handy tips and including another AWESOME die!

A wedding anniversary card from our friend Geff last year is about to become the basis for this post.

Deconstructed – means: taken apart and the good bits saved.

I’ll keep the insert because that’s where Geff wrote his message to us.

The front will go into my stash for use later.

The back of the card is useless and needs to be recycled – yes?

Not exactly. It will be recycled, but by me rather than the recycling people…

I’m going to use the new die from the front of the magazine.

Cut out in white,

Green,

And red.

Look! Pretty!

But not quite a robin yet.

The pieces can be cut out and used layered on top of the image or in place of the other colours. I’ve decided to layer them.

You’re probably thinking there aren’t many green robins around, they’ve usually ripened by Christmas time – and you’d be right, but with the help of a little ‘Marker Magic’ you can have the little brown robin… watch.

Red marker pen on green card makes…

Brown!

Check the card you use will absorb the colour rather than just sit it on top, making a red smear on the card rather than the lovely brown robin I’ve got.

Place the cut-outs on top of each other – you know what a robin looks like ;)

Don’t forget the tail!

Stick the pieces down with glue, leaving the shadow behind in white to help with the snowy feel.

If you want to go a little further, see which parts of the die cut could be swapped for another colour – perhaps the swag pieces could be glittery? Silver glitter card would look just like frost.

Also, adding glitter glue or embossing powder will add more dimension to the card.

Whatever you do, Have FUN!

Happy Crafting!

Sort:  

These are beautifully done and wow , the colors are great. Keep it up and hope to see more from you.

Thank you! There will be more, I promise :)

Great, following you in order to see and read more from you. Lets stay in touch and success.

Thanks Sir
Re-Steemed+Upvote+share+follow @michelle.gent

Thank you! Much appreciated :)

Thank you for this post, I stil read everyone of them but just can not vote so I reply to let everyone know I read their post for all their trouble and effort they seem so nice just me, will not ever be able to do that.

You can't vote? Ah, that's a shame, but thanks for your comments :)

Love the creativity my biker chum :D

Have a great day

Thank you! I'm diversifying... still creative, but not quite the writing thing right now.

If you see any of my characters on their jaunt, would you let them know I'd like them to come and talk to me again? ;)

Diversification is a good thing.

Will do :D

It sure is! I would like to be writing though sigh ;)

Would it be rude of me to ask why you're not writing?

No, not rude :)

I kinda lost my writing Muse. She wandered off somewhere and I can't find her.

I do think she's starting to make her way back though... I've heard some echoes of her ideas...

I'm very glad to hear it.
She can be a bit elusive can't she :D

Yes! Soon, though... I'm sure she's on her way home :)

It's getting ridiclous how early they start promoting the seasons. You literally see easter eggs in January now. I'd rather enjoy summer for now but nice craft kit all the same a just a little early lol.

I agree! It's all getting out of hand, but I do see their point. Some of the crafters would need to spend months stocking up for Christmas, so getting the kits and stash to them now helps them enormously.

Awww, how cute is that!

I know, right? He's really such a cute robin!

@michelle.gent thanks for your post i learnt alot thanks for taking the time to share this info with everyone and full steem ahead

Thanks :) It's no chore, I'm enjoying it all :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58972.92
ETH 2315.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50