Garden after the rain

in #life6 years ago

I've been out in the garden today. Heavy rainfall overnight and yesterday after a few days of hot weather means the plants are abundant! Bees all over the flowers (some of the planters have been flooded, but I think I'll be able to salvage them). The pond is a swamp, but no matter, plans are coming along.

Trev is off work (a virus that's kicking his arse, leaving him tired and lethargic) and he's been told to rest, so he's decided to watch a few films and have a go at designing the pond filtration systems. I'll drop the link in here when he makes a post about it.

Today's garden and greenhouse photos are below.

IMG_0244.JPG
Loganberries are deep into their flower phase, just coming into the fruiting phase.

IMG_0246.JPG
I love these loganberries. There are no thorns and the fruits are huge, sweet and really flavoursome!

IMG_0250.JPG
Bees busy on the raspberries.

IMG_0251.JPG
Lots of bees.

IMG_0253.JPG
Blackberries on the other side of the lawn are full in flower! This is an awesome display in real life. The photo doesn't do it justice at all!

IMG_0243.JPG
I don't know what this flower is, but it's certainly pretty.

IMG_0254.JPG
Peach tree isn't doing too well, I think I'll keep it in the greenhouse next year.

IMG_0255.JPG
Strawberries are coming up in the flower beds.

IMG_0256.JPG

IMG_0257.JPG
Aubretia is poking through too.

IMG_0258.JPG
Then we have the bluebells!

IMG_0259.JPG
Nestling in amongst the self-set ferns, they look fabulous!

IMG_0260.JPG
Blackcurrant cuttings have fruit on them - I'm giving these cuttings to a friend.

IMG_0263.JPG
And blueberry fruits are coming through!

IMG_0264.JPG
Apples...

IMG_0266.JPG
I don't think the cherries will survive the birds.

And the greenhouse is busy too!

IMG_0267.JPG
Tomatoes in hanging baskets.

IMG_0268.JPG

IMG_0269.JPG
The upside-down planters are growing theirs too!

IMG_0271.JPG

IMG_0272.JPG
Grapes!

IMG_0273.JPG
Japanese Maple (Acer)

And finally, evidence of the rain we had.

IMG_0274.JPG
A perfect raindrop in amongst new growth on the raspberry bushes.

IMG_0276.JPG
Same raindrop from a wider shot.

Sort:  

Your flower garden is so beautiful , flowers is nice . All photography is amazing .

Your post is always different i follow your blog everytime , your post is so helpful . I always inspire of your post on my steem work . Thank you for sharing @michelle.gent

Keep good work of every time ...

Hope I can also buy a house and lot big enough to have a garden also in the near future :D

Beautiful garden, Michelle. Love all the fruit! It will come together faster than you think. I have never grown anything in upside down pots. How does that work with the tomatoes? Don't the tomatoes get too heavy for the vines?

There are too many types of flowers here, and it seems they have already been invaded by bees haha. The bluebells look really good, they have a very beautiful shape accompanied by that color like the japanese maple, I do not know but I liked it. Very well you take by the way.

Love the flower photos love gardens...oh by the way the pretty flower you did not know what it was is a Columbine...I like them too

upvoted and resteemed

Your gardens are doing beautifully! Love those Bluebells. My lettuce I planted all by myself was coming up so well ... and yesterday it was almost all eaten - by little green caterpillars! ARGH. I got rid of them, and have sprinkled diatomaceous earth around them. I'm told if there are still little 'sticks', they should grow back. Sigh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63099.80
ETH 2455.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58