You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: From Lurker to Stalker

in #life7 years ago

The borders of private and public life are redefined daily in this digital world we live in.

In this new era each person needs to set these boundaries for themselves but in order to do that they need to be informed. Forget about the likes and re-whatever you will get from your friends. You should ask yourself: when you are posting this photo are you prepared to have potentially everyone see it for, potentially, ever? And please bear in mind that not everyone think like you do, so everyone will interpret it differently. If the answer to this is anything other than an absolute "yes", perhaps it would be better to think it twice.

I think that's a good way of explaining to somebody what a post could mean in the digital world. However, this can easily create fear. Fear of being watched and that any action online could have potentially devastating effects at some point in the future. So caution is warranted for this, as well. We can't live isolated from the world. Nor can we live in fear.

Personally, I don't think about the question above very much, truth be told. For one, it's because I don't expose deeply personal moments online, nor do I post controversial or inflammatory content. Heck, before steemit I didn't post much of anything, as I've said in my introductory post.
Also, since I really am not a fan of conspiracy theories, I believe that no one is really interested in exploring my personal life. I'm not that interesting. 😊

And, of course, the psyche of other people shouldn't dictate our actions, if they are not addressed to them. If they are then we take them into consideration, whether we want to or not. Each one acts based on their belief system, their personalities, their mood at the time. And each other receives that action (or not) and (re)acts according to their personalities, belief systems and mood at the time. No one is responsible for someone else's actions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60986.74
ETH 2636.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63