Natal Green Snake? (I hope)

in #life5 years ago

7a73d7be-25ba-4938-a5f9-2e632e5eae08.jpeg


Ok, discovered this little one as I was leaving home, perched on the Garage wall basking in the sun.

I am almost certain it is a Natal Green Snake, but I could be wrong and could be a green mamba, or a boom slang, which are highly venomous unlike the Natal green snake which is totally harmless. It looks like it has something in it's belly or it could very well be pregnant, I have sent the photo off to a snake handler in our area and he assures me it is indeed a Natal green snake, so am hoping that is definitely the case.

Problem is i did not get to it on time so it slipped back under the Jasmine creeper and now i cannot find it, if it does lay its eggs I will be having quite the collection of reptiles floating about my house, so tomorrow i will have to cut down the creeper to try and find it to rescue it and set it free in the forest.

My main concern is i have my pup running about all over the place not to mention the neighbours kids, and if I have mistaken it's identity it could be disastrous. In the mean time will keep my pup inside and the windows shut for now :-)

Happy Friday everyone.

PS.
if there are any snake experts out there who can positively identify this guy, please let me know in the comments, would greatly appreciate it.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

I'd be very scared if I was there.

All ok. Most snakes try to avoid you. I live in an area which has quite a few different snakes. I always try to catch and relocate back into natural habitat.

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful snake. Hope you can find her and send her back to the forest!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes will check and bo9efully manage to free her back into the forest. Will keep you posted

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @michaeljn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63155.22
ETH 3108.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85