You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Winraky: All In - In STEEM! (Original short story)

in #life8 years ago

@soldier Why do I think this is not a natural way to meet a person who would tell you what to do in a tough situation? Sure.
Unlike in a society that is more community oriented like it is in the Eastern countries, I think that an American society is very individualistic and competitive on its core level. People here are separated and often lonely or should I say “on their own.” In a difficult situation, one can get help from a psychologist, a psychiatrist, a life coach, or a psychic. More so, if you are in the military you might even have psychologists on stuff and get it for free. However, this would be a paid professional help.
I think that people would be apprehensive of giving free advice to someone because in their mind it will give another person a competitive advantage. Can it generally be that someone would give you a good advice? Absolutely. However, I don’t think this typically happens when a person is down on his luck and in a situation of acute need for America applauds winners but doesn’t like losers.
Fiction is the subject of my interest rather that some particular incidents that happen to a real person. I think that the subject of fiction should be not some incidents that could happen with someone somewhere, but the incidents that couldn’t have been avoided under certain conditions in the life of a current society.
For example, and I am sorry if I already have given this example, one of my favorite stories is “The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber” by Hemingway. What Hemingway did in this story is that he lifted a huge social layer of “boys that never became adult men.” These are the people who could already become old, but they still think and act like boys. In this story, Hemingway describes a situation when such a boy finally becomes a man, and that internal transformation made him a happy man, although for a very short time, because subsequent to this transformation he was shut.
I hope this clarifies my position and shows that I am not intruding in someone’s internal world or trying to somehow deliberately offend someone’s feelings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37