5 Biggest Regrets People Have Before They DiesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago

we make a lot of decisions in in our lives that shape our future and to be exact our endings, there is literally no one on the planet that is happy with all the of decisions they made, we all had our fears, mistrusts, hopes,wishes,dreams, goals,... and we acted towards them, some of these actions turned out to be right and some turned out to be wrong which left us with a great amount of regret.

Source
recently I read an article about 5 biggest regrets that people have at the end of their lives, and I thought it might be interesting for some of my friends here( It actually made me rethink my life style and the way I am dealing with my life right now).

Perusing your dreams, not others


Source
one of the problems that almost everyone has experienced is how to please others(family, friends, partners, boss,...), and achieving this goal cost a lot(our dreams and wishes), I myself am not that much affected by what others expect from me but even dealing with such opposite current drains a lot of energy and sometimes make you doubtful about what you believe in or trying o pursue.
after all you don't wanna be the person who has to listen to a speech starting by 'I told you!', just keep in mind at your final days what people think would not be your first concern.

Speak your mind


Source
how much do we express our feelings and speak our minds(in person of course , not social media and on the comment sections) most of the time I don't. I am sure it happens to a lot of us that we wanted to punch somebody in the face but instead of that we stayed there and listened to the crap which is generated specially for you!
To avoid this great remorse at the final chapter of your life try to be gentle and nice , but express your feeling, and remember for that you don't need to be mean but honest.

Don't be a workaholic!


Source
when you are working too much on your career, it means that your are not working on another aspect of your life like children, family , having fun, etc....
I am afraid to tell you this commitment to your job is going to hunt you down in your final days, researches has shown one of the biggest regret that people have when they are old is why they have worked this hard and why they missed all the other good aspects of their lives. I myself work something about 12-15 hours a day and 6 days of the week. it is pretty what researches trying to tell us to avoid.

Source
I am planning to reduce my work hours, focus on the the things that I am more passionate about and spend more time with my family(I don't know whether I succeed in it or not, going to give it a try anyway)

Try to be happier


Source
Some believe happiness is a choice, I don't know about that but I know if you don' try to be happy as a result you won't be.

Keep in touch with your friends!


Source
this is a fact that by changing states in life friends and people who we are in touch will change too, for example if you change your job it is going to be hard to stay connected with your friends at the previous job, or when your are finished with university it is possible to lose majority of people who were part of your life someday. but researches have shown elders miss their friend a lot and they regret not staying in touch with them. I think the smart thing to do is to at least make a call once in a while, send an email or post a postal card to them(let them know you are still around).

Conclusion

we only live once, let's try not to dream about how things could be different at the end.!

This post is 100% powered up

Mon Jan 30 18:20:06 IST 2017

Sort:  

I join all of the above. Thank You @meysam because You also have read about it. When I read the story of nurses from Australia, who worked in hospice, I have this story rocked. Dying people are most worried about those moments of his life. That they could do that would change. We all need to think about it. Thank You.

@madlenfox
you got the story right, that was exactly the article that I read about, since then I tried to work at least a bit less than usual :)
I am really glad you find my writing interesting too, I appreciate the feedback and support.

I will follow and wait for the interesting article. Success in the future.

That's a very beautiful post with great advice I follow quite some time.

it is kind of you, appreciate it :)

Great things to remember on a day-to-day basis! Nice post. Upvoted

thank you for the feedback and upvote @precious :)

great post @meysam !! i always speak my mind and this is why i support this great post !! Steem On )

thank you very much @gomeravibz
I appreciate the support :)

Thank you for a beautiful Post

thank you for reading it, I am glad you liked it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58474.85
ETH 2500.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39