What to consider when working from home

in #life6 years ago

working-from-home.jpg

I have been working as an independent entrepreneur for over 20 years and for many working from home can be a challenge. I have had many offices over the years but always an additional home office which I always ended up using the most.

If you are working from home or considering it, here are some points you should think about.

Do you have a family?

If you have a wife and kids you may get into situations where they just see you as being at home sitting at the computer and therefore interrupting you a lot. So it is important that they know that you are actually working and to respect your work space. It is really nice getting to be around your family all the time, but it can be a major distraction from work as well. So finding a balance here and maybe setting hours can be a big help.

Undisciplined?

Getting to set your own hours, work at your own pace, take days off when you want to and so on is a major benefit of being your own boss. But, this also requires a lot of discipline. It only becomes so much easier to sleep in, work less and take time off. It is important to recognize your own level of discipline. Admit to yourself if this is an obstacle for you and you can then do something about it. Set an alarm in the morning, build a routine and set goals for yourself like what you have to finish before you can call it a day or x amount of hours. Also try not to work too much. This might not sound like good advice, but you can end up in situations where you have been working almost 24/7 for days and you just get mentally exhausted decreasing the quality of your work and also wearing you out to the point you will have to take time off to recharge.

Feeling shut in?

When you both work and live at home you can get a little stir crazy as you spend a lot of time in your house. So make sure to get out in your spare time. If all your work can be done from a laptop you can also go and work at coffee shops sometimes for a change of scenery. Be sure to get out, even if it just for food, walking the dog, shopping etc.

Being able to work from home and your own boss can be hard but with the right precautions and attitude is is the best way to work. Not having a boss and being able to set your time is an amazing lifestyle!

If you are considering going into business for yourself, I wrote a free guide for @emancipatedhuman that you can download here.

Do you work from home? What are your experiences and advice? I would love to heart them in the comments below!

Thank you for reading!
Michael Bach aka @mexresorts

Sort:  

Really nice advice, thanks for sharing these tips!

And thank you for reading them! Much appreciated!

Very good points! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for reading!

Really brillliant post.can fully relate to the ,trying work from home around family life , with a 12 year old daughter & just about happy wife. In the process of growing a team (with my mate) @clivemartin here on steemit .Finally if used right here is the potential for a huge earner at a free entry level

Thank you for reading, and good luck with your team! I have given you both a follow. Looking forward to seeing your content.

Thanks very much for your support ,although not really a seasoned blogger .Have been trying to earn online with varying degrees of success for more years than I like to admit .I really do believe in this steemit as a business model because the way it is designed ,everyone needs to post & interact to the max.Will look out for your posts so as to get inspiration for my own future ones .If I can please ask ,how long have you been on here ?

I created my account in September 2016. Have been on and off over time. Blogging can be hard. Sometimes you are just not inspired.

I am planning on working from home too,i have an aunt that does that too it helps her in creating more time for her to be around her children and husband.You have a great idea and plan keep it up.I am a newbie here i will really appreciate if you check my blog and upvote me.

Thank you for taking the time to read. It can be hard to work from home with no boss, but the rewards are great! So much more freedom! I have followed you and will check out your blog now!

you are truly a great guy

No YOU are truly a great guy :)

Great advice for working at home. Will share it to all my 30 followers :D

Thank you, even a little helps <3

I've been working at home for about a year now. It's been great but I do go crazy at times because I'm home for such a long time. One of the main problems that I've had with it is that I've gained some weight because I spend a lot of time sitting at my desk working on the computer. Since this year began though, I've been doing a good job of hitting the gym frequently and changing my working environment. Like you said, @mexresorts, I work on my laptop at school or at a coffee shop. Don't forget to socialize with others too!

Good to hear! It can be really difficult, but once you get some routines it helps a lot. Maybe consider a pet. I am not a gym guy, but having a dog to walk is great exercise and a good way to get out of the house! Good point about socializing, I am still guilty of doing most of that online. One does need actual human contact sometimes!

Yeah, can't forget about human contact. haha. It's important to network with others in business too. Especially when we're working on our own business. You never know when you're going to meet someone that can add lots of value to your business or that can provide mentorship.

For sure! Will give you a follow and check out your vids!

Thank you for the support! By the way, I really like your galuxtravel.com website. Great format and very vibrant images!

Thanks! It is easy with Mexico having so many amazing places.

Will surely read more of the free guide. I'm also an xpat here in Spain, also been working & online business at home for the past years before we move here. I love working in my own time w/o a boss around & it's hassle free.
It's just a matter of time Management.

Upvoted & resteemed your post @mexresorts 👍🏻

Thanks a lot! I am from Denmark but have been living in Mexico for a loooooooooong time :) Will check out your blog!

I've been to copenhagen & Vejle DK as part of my solo travel. Pls. Do checkout on my travel blogs.

Tak! @maxresorts 🙂

Will do! Already following!

This is really true. Working from home gives you a lot of freedom and the rewards are epic only if you really put a lot of hardwork. Be passionate of what you are doing. Great post, Sir. Hope you can check out my blogs and a follow would be highly appreciated. Thank you!

Thank you for reading. Id does require hard work and passion for sure! Gave you a follow, will check out your blog.

Thank you and you're welcome, Sir! Looking forward for your upcoming posts :)

I am also started to work at home mom and I am happy that I can earn income while taking care of my kids.

Good luck!

Thank you for reading! Yes, a major benefit for working at home is definitely more family time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25