The evolution of a collection #1

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! Today I'll be telling you a bit more about how my collection of 'my little pony' has evolved over the last couple of years.


Picture 1

My Little Pony was launched in 1983 and became popular during the 1980s. The original toy line ran from 1983 to 1995 (1992 in the US), and inspired animated specials, an animated feature-length film, and four animated television series. The ponies feature colorful bodies, manes and a unique symbol on one or both sides of their flanks. My Little Pony has been revamped at least four times with new and more modern looks to appeal to a new market.

Picture 1

I began collecting these colorful ponies back in 2009. Originally I was only interested in collecting the ones I had as a kid. But I soon figured out that was not enough and I wanted more ponies. So I started buying the ones that were in store at that time, called Generation 3 or G3 for short.
Shortly after, the G3's got revamped into: G3.5! These ponies were more cartoony, with small bodies and very large heads. They didn't last very long as people did not like them.

So they got revamped again in 2010. Early 2011 I went to my local toy store to buy my first G4
These ponies are small compared to all other generations and still had a cartoony look. G4 is still found to this day and the toys and tv show are doing very well.


This picture was taken around 2011-2012. I was still living at my parent's house and this was my bedroom.
I think I had about 1000 ponies at that time. My dad put up all these shelves for me, he's such a sweetheart. <3

Picture 1


In 2013 I moved in with my boyfriend in a small condo and for the first time I had a separate room for my ponies. I remember how hard the actual moving was, I had about 100 boxes filled with plastic toys. And there was no elevator, phew!

It took weeks and weeks to put everything together.

Picture 1

Picture 1

But in the end it was well worth it!

Picture 1

We lived in our condo for about 2 years and then we moved into a house! A big house with 5 rooms, 5 rooms just for my toys... 2 Rooms that are packed with ponies, love and dreams. Here is again how I put it together. It took me 17 weeks to fill al those shelves!! And in case you're wondering what those cardboard tubes are for: I use them to raise some of my ponies. Easy and cheap ^^

Picture 1


And here is what my collection looks like today (WARNING: PICTURE HEAVY)

Picture 1

Picture 1

Picture 1

Picture 1

Picture 1

Picture 1

Picture 1

Picture 1

Tell me: What do you think about collectors? Are we just crazy or nostalgic?

Thank you very much for reading! Don't forget to follow me!


Who is Mande Walschot?

Mande Walschot resides in Belgium and currently owns over 1,350 boxed My Little Ponies, around 500 boxed dolls, 52 polly pockets, 25 plush care bears, 30 Tsum Tsums, about 3,000 Pokémon cards, around 200 comic books and lots of stuffed toys! Gemr spotlight collection

Also seen on national television and newspapers.

Sister of @steve-walschot, the creator of SteemPay.io and vouched Steem applications developer and girlfriend of game-enthusiast @herrlonnie.

Sort:  

I do not know what to say !

Is that a good thing? ;-)

Not sure :-)

I have to show this to the wife, she complains of my collections but she started collecting these for our granddaughter, he he

Haha great! :D

Is dusting awkward? x

Since it's a room I don't actually LIVE in, there is not a lot of dust to be honest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67904.70
ETH 3244.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66