You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Black Lives Matter!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I won't detract from your point of view by bringing historical accuracy into the argument, but I will make the following observation: All races and ethnicities have been enslaved by other races and ethnicities in the pursuit of tribal conquest and empire. To magnify one races struggle over another creates resentment and guilt in the remainder of society because older generations will usually pass on the heritage of their ancestors to the younger generation. This will include the history of their own respective triumphs and oppression. I won't comment on the BLM movement, nor the veracity of modern racism, but I will close stating that the futures of any race or ethnicity is not determined by outside forces, but by inner cultural strengths passed on by previous generations and the collective will of the new generations to preserve their culture and ethnicity. No one chooses their genetic biology so to shame one group or promote another due to historical oppression is a sociological folly with consequences for the current and future generations, similar in form to inherited financial debts.

Sort:  

Thank you for you comment. One thing I disagree is when you say "to magnify one races struggle over another creates resentment and guilt", I think it rather drives compassion and gratitude. In knowing the history, we don't let wrongs repeat and build better societies, celebrate our differences, stand up for each other, and grow as humans.

Dealing with these issues is definitely tricky because discourse is hard... we're putting a huge amount of people into a collective of individuals that is diverse. I appreciate the fact that you didn't attempt to impugn my character for a divergent opinion, so giving you an upvote for your tolerance.

Just make one thing clear, I am not black. It doesn't really matter if I was either. I don't beleive in racial identifications. Bottomline we all are same and different. I celebrate differences. That's what makes this world so colorful and meaningful. I wrote that post because I was moved by recent events.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40