Happiness Isn't Real

in #life5 years ago

Happiness isn't real.

It's something that you create with your mind.

giphy.gif
Source

Whether you realize it or not, you are always choosing to be happy ...

Or not.

giphy (1).gif
this guy has a better chance of picking up the sign than you do of trying to be happy
Source

This is how it works.

We experience happiness when we are content/happy with who we are, what's going on in our lives, and what's happening around us.

This is determined by our beliefs.

I am happy if I am succeeding.
I realized that no matter how hard I tried ...

I could never find and hold this feeling.

This is what I did about it.

giphy (2).gif
let's take action in changing our lives!
Source

First, I asked myself the question.

I would be happy if ... ?

if i was more successful.

My next question was,

what does success mean to me?

being wealthy, having a nice car, having lots of friends/family, being intelligent, being good looking, doing well at work ...

^^ The culprit of my discontentedness

The list went on and on ...

I had a definition of success that was impossible to achieve ...

giphy (3).gif
I would never succeed using my current definition
Source

I decided to simplify things.

Want to know my new definition??

...

...

...

31j5lt.jpg
keep waiting buck

I am successful if ...

I am alive.

That's it!

Maintaining homeostasis is ALL I have to do.

The great part is my brainstem already does that for me!

Instantly I felt better.

It was as if a weight had been lifted off my shoulders.

I had finally succeeded.

Let's try something.

Choose what you want to experience differently. (For me it was happiness.)

Ask yourself, I would be (insert theme here) if?

Write down whatever answer comes to mind.

You have to be a bit of a detective here ...

For most of us the first answer will just be the top layer of the onion.

If you don't feel content, keep asking questions.

Once you have gotten to the root of it (what you really want), ask yourself to define that thing...

You may be surprised by what definitions you hold.
In that next instant, you have the ability to change your definition.

Create a definition that is empowering to you and allows you to achieve your personal goal/desired state.

After mentally rehearsing that definition a few times, embody the state you are trying to achieve.

The more intensely you can embody your desired state, the more you will solidify this new definition.

If it doesn't stick, you most likely have some emotional baggage tied to this particular belief pattern. If you need help, send me a message on telegram @j00ze and I can offer some advice.

giphy (4).gif
you after creating a more empowering belief
Source

This is POWERFUL!

I must recommend that you take this slowly. I suggest working with one belief/theme per week. Use your intuition, if you feel like your world is falling apart you may be changing your beliefs a bit too quickly.

I hope this helps!

If you have any questions drop them in the comments below.

I will do my best to answer them in a timely manner!!!

Independence Day.png

I create these posts to help individuals learn about themselves and life.
My goal is to share this wisdom openly with everyone. Any support offered is greatly appreciated.

Offer Support

50 SP -- 100 SP -- 250 SP -- 500 SP

Donate

BTC : bc1q2g77hgxvjgf8qlntj2m7skxawa6qykw4ql82kj
ETH : 0x1B3eA4279A0D35B0e47860Ed55ad6A2F86Ae159d

21PRtjKRXPQybj4WUXScWv5QPLninWRxfbcWNsx7SenD7Fp75URMXC6htZZLtGu4aJAcNeQGqBQF1piczoDGPWCrtDawhZwAda6pQPVUs7oVBcAwAWaH9vJXJ6KZXLiiBPJzguHXRCUXk1pAF4NLYJA.jpeg
C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iQSTD5YGWjkTwHsRHrrX294VzWkKyZwnQLJnfsPb8xAuVEW4LqLxLwCayUeDaSbmRT8rxCeME9t.png

Sort:  

Sometimes, in order to feel truly happy, you just need to look around at yourself and live without fear and doubt. Because sometimes no car, house and millions can make you happy if you are unhappy with yourself.

You got it!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Loving the Tom Hanks meme and the seriously important question: "how to you define success & happiness?" Cos THAT is everything. Once we redefine what it is to be happy, we can find it anytime & anywhere. The only roadblocks to happiness are those we create in our own minds.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Thanks @artemislives. How do you u personally define success??

Posted using Partiko Android

I dunno if I can agree, I think that the way I have acted in the previous days/weeks has a lot to do with my happiness in the present moment. Especially my health decisions matter, if I am on a healthy diet and getting 7+ hours of sleep most nights, I feel so much better and happier than if I am trying to force myself to live on low sleep and bad food. The same kind of thing can be true if I have social problems, or job problems, or any of those things.

hmm @heymattsokol ... these are good points.
The main thing I wanted to highlight was that happiness is predicated by our beliefs/ideas about we should /should not be doing. When we are doing the former we feel good about ourselves and when we are doing the latter we often feel bad.

I think you are highlighting the biological aspects of happiness ... kinda maslows heirarchy of needs. It can be tougher to feel happy right after you've eaten a big mac...

The way I see it is ... happiness arises when we are in alignment with our personal goals/desires ...
happiness is/can be amplified by eating right, exercise, adequate social interactions/ good health.

Thoughts?

Hi, @metama!

You just got a 5.89% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @metama!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.376 which ranks you at #6948 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 14 places in the last three days (old rank 6962).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 198 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You’ve been visited by @vibesforlife on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Exactly - Happiness is a choice. Infact, a man is what he thinks all day long.

We are also holding a raffle - if you'd like to win some beautiful art by @FrejaFricheck out this post. We are also behind a fundraising charity drive hosted by @freedomtribe to raise money for Venuezualan children. Please click here to enter!

50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡

Discord

I swear I connect to your thoughts more than I connect with people who I interact with daily. Would be epic if the universe allowed us to collab one day. We could start a series called meditate/Heal your heart with Sab and Metama LOL #ABitchIsDreaming 😂
For real keep it up! Love your vibe and soul x 1000! What you write resonates with me deeply💫🧡

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81