Five O'clock Tea By The Med Sea

in #life5 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians!

This is a short adventure I had and would like to share it here. The rear brakes of my car have to be replaced that could cost me 2.5 hours of waiting. Instead of waiting at the shop, I decided I'd go to the beach which is a long walk from the repair shop of Javier, our long time mechanic friend. From the industrial area, it is about 3 kilometers to the coast. I thought of walking down to reach it, but I wasn't ready for that 3 kms....so, I made a shortcut between the greenhouses to reach the Playa. While passing those plastic greenhouses, I got goose skin...there was no one there, just me...what if? what if...... I thought of terrifying crime stories..but what the heck I thought, it was broad daylight.

Turning right to a small dirt track I was scared to death I thought I'd get a heart attack..I was horrified by the a huge staffordshire terrier that suddenly came out barking at me by the gate of what seems to be a small resting place for the farmers. Thank God, the steel bars were thick and high. OMG, I thought it was already my end !!!

Exhausted from my shock, I sat at one of the coffee shops fronting the beach to have a tea since it was a bit chilly around 5:00 pm. I had been looking around for some fresh churros with chocolate but to no avail. It was off season along the coast, so I settled with a cheesecake and black tea to calm me down. I just sat there and had been relieved of that dog shock.

The afternoon was fine and the sea breeze had that distinctive freshness in it. A few tourists who stayed over the holidays enjoyed their walk, locals came playing with their kids together with their small dogs. I couldn't help but thought of our Lily, the chihuahua princess of mom in-law ....she would have loved to meet other dogs and giggle with them or smell each other, lol!

To while away the time, I walked up and down the beach and then went to a small supermarket to buy fresh parsley and some chocolate for the muffin I will be baking... went to the kiosk nearby too to buy a ref magnet for a friend who missed buying it when she was here.

All the time, I was wondering why Javier didn't call me to say I could get the car already. I checked my phone, darn!!! I forgot to turn on the sound after my siesta and saw that I missed a call! I was in a hurry to go to the shop but avoided the short cut. It was a long way and my feet were aching... much to my dismay when I arrived at the shop..the brakes were not changed because the parts delivered were bigger by just a few millimeter and that was what they were calling me about to say that they have ordered another parts.

It was already 6:30 pm ...so I called it a day and drove back home on a dark country road and I was glad to be in my home sweet home again.

Note: All images are original and from the author.

GIF by @gremayo

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71