Life Hack - Homestead Hack - EASY WAY TO PULL A POST! 📷 [Video inside]

in #life7 years ago (edited)

HOMESTEAD LIFE HACK - EASY WAY TO PULL A POST!


It totally works. It will work with posts set deep or shallow. Sure they make special tools to pull post but they are expensive to buy or rent. With this method, all you need is an old car rim and a chain! EASY!

I made this video when I was helping a friend ( @dwells ) move and he needed to remove the posts he set in the ground. There were other videos out there showing this method but we were kinda skeptical and wanted to see if it worked! YUP! It works!

All in all, we pulled 8 posts out of the ground in 10 minutes. Give it a try, it works!

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


resteem.jpg

Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


Sort:  

Like it

Zac maybe you can place rebar through the post and the concrete will come out of the ground more often. Otherwise great video good idea.

Yeah, that would probably work!

I don't think the concrete came out with most of them because of the method we used to set the posts. Instead of mixing the concrete with sand and water we just dumped a bag in dry, tamped it down and back filled with dirt from the whole. This method used the moisture in the ground to harden the cement but as you can see from the video 7 out of 9 times it didn't adhere to the post itself. I had to go back and dig out the concrete on those 7. They were all hard as a rock with perfect square holes in them.

I need to try this. I have a couple of post that need pulled.

It works great! Get it on video and share it!

Great Post! ;)
You've earned yourself an upvote, follower, and resteem.

Cool, almost forgot about this one. I remembered seeing it on You Tube. What a great idea. Did you come up with that. Very creative and what a back saver. Thanks!!

This is brilliant! I will definitely be trying this in a time of need.

cool..I never thought of that.
back in the day when I was homesteading
I'd have done the same had I known

But I didn't so I used a high Lift Jack...

I used power line poles for my fences back on the Llano.

I sawed them into eight foot or ten foot lengths with a BullSaw.
Then I dug Post holes three or four foot deep and about a foot across.
then I drops a post in it....and tamped it down really tight.
30 years ago...still standing..

I got em for free when the
Power Company was replacing a few miles of poles.
"You Haul it, You can have it" the foreman said. So I did...about a hundred of them.
this jack came in real handy...when I discovered that
"oops..that post should be over THERE instead of over THERE.
only about $30 back then...double that now.

Seemed too simple but you can't deny the results!

Genius! I have a steel pole in concrete that has been kicking my truck and tractor's collective asses... I will try this to make it my bitch

I remembered seeing you do this trick. I needed to pull out some small dead trees this weekend. I revisited you post as a refresher. It worked flawlessly. Thank you. And keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58183.32
ETH 2475.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38