You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life: Living with a Severe Hearing Impairment and my New Hearing Aid

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Even though I have my hearing, I've always wanted to learn sign language. In fact, I have a cousin who is an ASL translator in Washington DC and he helped me translate a song when I was a children's choir director for my church many, many moons ago.

You know that Beethoven was deaf and he made BEAUTIFUL music.
As a semi-retired singer, I would say to go out there and keep singing! If you've got a choir mate who knows about your hearing issues, make sure you're standing next to her and do shoulder or hand signals. An up-tick of the shoulder means you're a little flat, a nudge of the elbow means you're a little sharp. Never give up singing - it's one of the purest joys we can have that doesn't cost a thing. XOXOX

Sort:  

I'I am trying to get more involved with open mic on here, I really don't have any of my old music contacts any more.

I used to study music at tafe and since having kids, I have lost contact with all of them - and their autism doesn't make it easy to get out of the house generally.

So online only for me I think at least for now, I just want to get back to where I was after this sickness so that I can have my full range and control back :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 65337.35
ETH 2583.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67