You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life: Living with a Severe Hearing Impairment and my New Hearing Aid

in #life8 years ago

Congratulations on the new hearing aid. When my middle son was younger he had so many ear infections and it affected his hearing. I could be fooling myself but I truly believe we staved off many of the infections by placing a drop of alcohol in his ears after he went swimming or took baths. I only say that because the frequency of his ear infections was greatly diminished after I started doing the drops.

Unfortunately there was still damage and in kindergarten they were teaching how to read audibly and he was very far behind for obvious reasons. An ENT wanted to wait but we got a second opinion so he had tubes put in and adenoids and tonsils removed. It took until high school until he got caught up with reading comprehension and his hearing is not affected significantly.

I cannot imagine what life would be like without sound and I am so very glad something is working for you. To hear the sounds of our children is really a blessing. All best!

Sort:  

Id say that the alcohol is definitely helping the doctors suggested it for my daughter, when she last had an ear infection as a preventative measure.

I struggled at school at times but never really fell behind with reading or writing my issues were maths and grammar, so not sure I can blame it on my ears lol.

My hearing was never significantly bad enough to learn sign language, but ironically now I am learning bits to help with my kids.

I am just glad it hasn't affected my voice to much I mean I love to sing, but I know at times especially when I was younger I would be singing completely out of tune and had no idea.

These days I do better with my singing inspite of the hearing issues, but I am always nervous of stuffing things up so I don't sing in public anymore.

I am so happy to have it even though it isn't 100 percent and I still struggle in some situations, this new aid has drastically improved my everyday life.

Best of luck with your son hearing hopefully soon medicine will be able to fix all our hearing issues without the need of aids :)

Even though I have my hearing, I've always wanted to learn sign language. In fact, I have a cousin who is an ASL translator in Washington DC and he helped me translate a song when I was a children's choir director for my church many, many moons ago.

You know that Beethoven was deaf and he made BEAUTIFUL music.
As a semi-retired singer, I would say to go out there and keep singing! If you've got a choir mate who knows about your hearing issues, make sure you're standing next to her and do shoulder or hand signals. An up-tick of the shoulder means you're a little flat, a nudge of the elbow means you're a little sharp. Never give up singing - it's one of the purest joys we can have that doesn't cost a thing. XOXOX

I'I am trying to get more involved with open mic on here, I really don't have any of my old music contacts any more.

I used to study music at tafe and since having kids, I have lost contact with all of them - and their autism doesn't make it easy to get out of the house generally.

So online only for me I think at least for now, I just want to get back to where I was after this sickness so that I can have my full range and control back :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41