You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I gave most of my money & stuff away and lived in a Shipping Container before it was fashionable. The Life & Times of Barry Dutton.

in #life7 years ago

Thank you for sharing some of your story, Barry. I've lost and given up much of my STUFF too. In fact, for the past 7 months most of my things are in storage because this house I'm in is only shelter and I never wanted to make it comfortable enough to call it home. I want to live simply. I don't miss my stuff either.

For you, my friend, I wish you blessings and more blessings. I was hushed once when I said aloud, "Oh Lord, please give me strength to deal with this!" She hushed me up quickly! Her words, which will forever stay with me was, "NEVER ask for strength because He will test them."

"Then what do I ask for?" I asked.
Her answer, "Honey, nothing but blessings. Only ask for blessings."

Sort:  

Your situation I have read comments on and about the last couple months or so has honestly been on my mind a lot and your post last week about the job thing has stuck with me too, I want you to know.

Frankly I wish I could do more to help people these days but it is just not in the cards and you have been one of the people here who have helped me and know that.

I have ALWAYS ALWAYS been that guy trying to help people and get things done. Now I am the one needing help and see those are the reasons I ran for city council --- to tell the system it is not working, and fight for my residents.

Thanks Meredith. I appreciate you.

I have always had a hard time asking for help because just when I feel like I can't take anymore or that I want it a little easier, I see someone who has it worse than me and I have nothing to ask for.

I, too, have always been the type to hold out my hand to help a fellow human being - and yes, sometimes I feel taken advantage of but I figure that's their karma - not mine...and I also take ownership of it because I allowed it to happen.

I will never stop giving but I have to remember that I am worthy to give back to myself too...and so are you. It's not greed. It's self-preservation.

Are you feeling better?? Are you halfway up that other mountain yet??😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51