The reason why I am grateful for being born poor.

in #life8 years ago

This might sound weird but there is a logical explanation behind it. I was thinking about this a lot and now I can finally understand why being poor is not so bad after all. 

Before I start I want to point out that everyone defines "poor" in their own way. By "poor" I mean that I have money for food, I have a home,.. But I can't afford designer clothes for example or to spend too much in general. I have to be careful with how I spend money, if I want one thing I can't buy the other one. I have to live a humble life in order to live without financial problems. 

So here are the benefits that I've noticed:

1. I know what being grateful means. 

I don't know why but I've noticed that people too often take things for granted. For example someone would get an iPhone 6 and wouldn't even be grateful. I also noticed that people who have more care less. Kids who get everything from their parents too often don't appreciate anything. It may be a super car or designer clothes or something like that. You could give those people anything and they still wouldn't be grateful a bit. They would probably just want more.

2. I am not stingy.

Again I've noticed that people who get everything without working are often stingy. I don't know if this is an international thing or just in Europe. But I really can't understand why people who have less often give more. Maybe it's because those who get everything are raised to expect services from others. I just think it's funny how some people who are filthy rich are so afraid to spend money on others. Even if it's just to buy someone a drink.

3. I know what work means.

I am so grateful for that. I think that being able to work gives me a motivation in life. Because when I have to work hard I automatically  think about giving my best in school to have a better future. I also understand my parents more and I want to be able to show them my gratitude for all this years. 

4. I have a lot of life goals.

I think that people who already have everything can't find many things that they want. And it gets a little boring. People like me on the other hand can wish for lots of things and work for them. It sounds silly but it's not that far from reality. 

This blog is based on my personal opinion and experiences. I hope you liked it. :) 

Sort:  

When you focus on what you love, you will be fulfilled and happy. Maybe the money follows to make life a little easier, maybe not. Enjoy Steemit for how it can bring out the best in you not for how much money you might make. Money is the icing on the cake of an already happy life!

You have my upvote!

Yes I agree. And thank you :)

People don't really experience happiness in correlation to their wealth. They experience happiness caused by the change in their wealth. So if you're born poor, you have a huge potential to improve and become very happy. If you're born wealthy, it's impossible to experience that same magnitude of pleasure.

I agree with you, I think if everything in the beginning of someones life is easy and perfect, people will get lazy and complaining about everything. The worse things happened in my life changed my life in a positive way if i look back. what doesn't kill you makes you stronger!

Your opinions and experiences are valid in general. I've seen variations though and everyone is free to speak their mind so..
Good write!

I upvote U

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60379.35
ETH 2434.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47