What you want vs what is actually reality - lower your expectations to be happier.

in #life6 years ago

beach-1440271.jpg

I have often battled my self in my life because I always want to be a good person, like being there for friends and caring for them etc. The problem is I expect that I will get the same in return, I don't mean literally straight after I am kind to them but if I am in need, then those people I was there for will be there for me too.

Also wanting to be understood by friends and being shocked when they had little understanding of or capability of showing emotion. Of course you should get some sought of care from friends but I found that I really was effected when I wasn't getting what I expected back.

Rather than just be disappointed and go on to find better friends, I hung on hoping these people would change which wasn't fair on me or them. This caused me to get into increasingly more arguments and build up of resentment towards them.

I eventually let go but sometimes have those weak moments where I want to go back, just because I miss the good times but reality is that my personality doesn't match my past friends. If you find yourself unhappy with the people around you, its unlikely to change, of course try to work things out but don't make the mistakes I made, hanging onto people when you know it isn't working, just makes you unhappy. Its hard to walk away but sometimes its for the best.

I just thought I'd let some 'steem' off on this post lol

Liam

Sort:  

A great posting with useful contents!!~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82