A Little Business Insider Article Review, and 100 Followers Shout Out!! THANK YOU!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

afterfocus_1515472653171.jpg
It's After Midnight, but... I have to get a post in for day 8! Better late then never, right?
_
First, we should chat about this interesting article I bumped into while making my way to my Steemit blog. Posting these little article discussion threads to open up a place of conversation for things I find interesting might become a more regular feature here on my page. I like to do it with my friends, so why not my Steemians?! Anyways, here's the article:
http://www.businessinsider.com/american-english-dialects-maps-2018-1/#youll-never-think-of-pecan-pie-the-same-way-again-23
_
Since I live in the Southern United States, and the national/global image of our area or culture has always been an entertaining topic among we "Southerners." I figured accents were always and forever going to be a thing, no matter your region, but this article points out plenty of plain pronunciation phenomena. Either way, the title caught my attention (along with the heat map) so, I had to click it!

Image from article (on businessinsider.com) by Joshua Katz, Department of Statistics, NC State
_
We had a good time laughing and joking over how we each naturally pronounced words, and looked to see if we were like all of our fellow Southerners. I was born in NC, but lived my first five years in CA, before my family moved to AL. My little sister, on the other hand, was born right down here by the coast, on New Year's Day no less... She honestly has the best birthday gatherings every year. People all over the world celebrate, it's crazy! (hahaha) Anyways, we also learned a crazy colloquialism, apparently indicative of Alabama & Mississippi, that I can honestly say I've never heard.
_
"What do you call a rain shower while the Sun is shinning?"
Yes, I would have kept it simple, like sun-shower, but apparently around these parts they like to say, "the devil's beating his wife." I was a little surprised, but makes since. Anyways, for the most part, we pronounce things more like the rest of the States and less like our neighbors. You should check it out, interesting information for travelers.
_
I want to know what words you pronounce differently than your neighbors or surrounding area. Do you stick out when speaking in public? Do people tend to notice your "accent" or lack there of? This country seems to have some pretty decisive, "lines in the sand," when it comes to proper pronunciation... we haven't even begun comparing it to our parent language, British English. They seem almost completely foreign at times :), but I still prefer their rhythm. Please jump in and start some conversation, I do enjoy checking & responding to my comments :).
_
Now that is out of the way.
afterfocus_1515472653171.jpg
Y'all (see article above, this is the one I'm most guilty of :) are the true shinning stars in my world! I want to thank you first one-hundred, extra special, because you will watch this from the very beginning and supported me from the bottom up (I will try to get to everyone's page individually and do some up-voting, commenting, or resteeming over the next week)! Thank you, thank you, thank you, thank you! I won't be able to say it enough, you will hear it more and probably get sick of it, but I have to do it. Y'all make this awesome. No reason, or drive, otherwise. Obviously, goes without saying, this is only the beginning folks and I couldn't be more excited! Take a bow, say hello, ask me anything... you deserve it. Random fact about M.E.: I grew up on Original Nintendo and still love its classic edge (I'm an 80's baby). Cheers, 100 and counting! Apologies for the double picture, the feed sees the first one.
(Only 19 Days since my Introduction)

Sort:  

There's a few words I say differently to the norm around where I am from. Being from Australia, we tend to have a strong lazy sounding accent. But for some reasons a few of my words I say like either an American, or British. Perhaps from the television.

I think its our slang that gets most confused. lol.. #teamaustralia

fair dinkum

That's awesome. Love the Ausi accent!

Blogging from bed and falling asleep lol! just wanted to give you a quick upvote , and A Big Congratulations on hitting your 100 milestone followers ! thats awesome @mental-extract , hope your loving Steemit so far , and the best of luck in 2018 !! Keep up the great work ! also resteemed👍👍👍

Thank you so much! Very humbling!! You're awesome.bitmoji1263217819.png

Congrats on the 100 followers mate :) ! First 100 of many more to come

Thank you for the vote of confidence my friend!

Congratulations on reaching 100 followers. That's a great milestone. As you continue growing your account, you can always check Steemit Dead Followers to see how many of them are actually still active. haha

As for your blog, I, too, am from North Carolina originally. I have heard the word pecan most often as "pee-KAHN," but there's always one or two people who say it differently. Oh well, I suppose dialects will always be interesting to study. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

True that. I had just bumped into it, and had always found the differences interesting. Extrapolating that information to masters who can tell what remote villages of foreign countries people hail from... pretty cool. Yes, it's a melting pot of pick-AHN pronunciations 'round theses parts, especially with the tourist market.

Congrats @mental-extract! And you got another new (very alive) follower. Keep steeming 💪

Thank you so very much. Very humbling each time someone decides to stick around. Can't wait to get the Internet Radio show up and running. Share content from that, too :) We are getting there. One day at time. lol.

Nice! Feel free to tag me once the Internet Radio is up and running :).

Done and done! Going to take a week or so to get everything up and running, but after that... Full Steem Ahead! (See what I did there?) lol

Will also follow you in my @momskitchen for your food posts ! once I log in there , its an all food and drinks blog !👍👍👍😋

bitmoji667578467.png

Lol im also loving your bitmoji !!

Thank you so very very much! You're an angel.

awe thanks ! your very welcome !👍👍👍😀

Congrats on getting your goal! 19 days in very exciting! Power up and keep going!

Will do for sure! That's the plan. Gotta get the train rolling before you can go sit in the lounge car, lol.

Very true. Don't forget to check your voting power either as I believe it must be low. Did you know you should only vote approx 10 times a day before your vote drops in power and needs recharging? Chevkout steemnow.com/@your username.

Yes ma'am, I'm aware... With the amount of responses and interactions I have though out the day, I managed to over drain it. Trying not to be rude, I still give an up-vote to let people know I saw it, and take the drain, but I'm in the process of taking it lighter on the supply to nurse it back to health without going cold turkey on everyone :) Thank you very much for the insight though. I'm using @steemworld mostly, at the moment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47