I’ve secured some nourishment

in #life6 years ago

I enjoy traveling as much as the next bloke (insert unjustified Australian accent here) but every time I’m in a different country I always wonder if I’m successfully blending in.


E5F82158-1E4D-486E-8928-B411F2692977.jpeg

Why would I want to blend in you ask? - to be honest it’s because I’m trying to see the real deal and not be sold the pamphlet. You see when locals detect the presence of unfamiliar flip flops they normally put up forth their best smiles, not that there is something wrong with that per say, but I rather swim the cultural quirks for true exploration.

You know, stereotypes are bad but at the same time they exist for somewhat organic reasons. Ive made it a point to look Brazilian enough and I think the mission is going well, until I open my mouth that is.

What is the stereotype you might be wondering. It’s not too strict per say but if you look like you either enjoy soccer or are on your way to play it, you might be pulling off my concept of “urban camouflage”.

The doctor visit yesterday was fruitful. I think the worse is yet to come, but it’s easier to cope with the idea once I’ve gotten over the fears of a new person with a breathing mask playing with my teeth.

In case you are wonderingly what’s this pathetic picture of a bowl of cereal is all about, it’s simply the substenance I secured this morning. I’m aware that’s not very Brazilian of me, but it’s the closes thing to oatmeal I found and I had already blown my cover with the restaurants staff with a short phone call.

I must ask for forgiveness my grammatical slaughterings have increased in intensity but typing entries on a iPhone 4 has some ocular challenges for my aging retinas.

I’m gonna shower now and prepare for more dental adventures of the not fun kind.

Still alive

@meno

Sort:  

Awww, Meno. I hope all of the dentist visits fly by quickly. I am curious, though.. to blend in .. you are dressed as if you enjoy soccer or are on your way to play it? I'm trying to imagine the disguise. :D

Feel better soon! Hugs & cookies!
♥-serena

That is correct my dear Serena... I look like a retired soccer fan...

Love and cookies to you too

Glad to see you survived the dental adventure so far; hang in there and nevermind the "grammatical slaughterings" :-) Looking forward to the next episode, @meno.

@meno hermano que todo te vaya muy bien por allá

Me encanta el cereal

Ademas me reí mucho espero seguir disfrutando de tus historias

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42