You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMART PEOPLE READ ALL THE TIME!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Another great post! I completely agree with everything here. To this day, my grandfather, who had a grade 3 education, was the smartest man I've ever met. I don't think there was ever a question he didn't know the answer to and he even helped me with my math homework as a kid. He was pretty sly though, and I do remember him helping me think my way to my own answers too though. He basically had no education, but he read. CONSTANTLY. If it was a book and it had words, he would read it.

I have a hard time reading anything at length on the monitor, mainly because I still prefer to feel a book in my hands, but I've been telling myself I need to start reading again (part of the reason I'm here). Texting and social media have made me lazy. I remember a time where I had to have correct spelling and grammar and now, I barely care. I can actually feel my IQ dropping.

Another benefit to reading (at least for me) is it's a nice escape from everything. I love it when the power goes out and I'm forced to read a book because I come back feeling refreshed and recharged

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69508.29
ETH 3366.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74