✳️ The Holidays ✳️ Black Friday ✳️ ...and why do people wait in line to get trampled? 😊✳️

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1936.JPG
Hey everyone! I hope you all are doing well and ready to do something great today!


As many of us in the US get ready to celebrate the holidays, I saw some things that made me ponder what people do this time of year.
Every year I see people camped out (for days) in front of stores, desiring to be first of the herd to rush the store on Black Friday. They are hoping to get a free (or cheap) TV or maybe another form of electronic entertainment.
IMG_2014.JPG

I can't help but wonder why? Has TV become such an important part of our lives that we are willing to trample, fight, and steal one every year when Black Friday comes around? I must admit, I do not understand this phenomena.
To camp out, for three whole days at an electronics store, to buy a tv on sale, actually ends up costing you more money - if you value your time.


Time Is Your Most Valuable Commodity

Let's say you earn $15 per hour. Instead of working those 3 days, you camped out in front of your local electronics store.
72x15=1,080
That's over 1k of your time you can never get back. Let's say you worked half of that time(obviously few of us work 24hr shifts). If you were to work just half of those hours, you would have earned $500 while others during that time were waiting in line for the Electronics Store UFC.


The Take

  • Do not waste time, you can NEVER get it back
  • Think of time in terms of value ( do you value waiting in line for a TV vs. earning money, or hanging out with your family?)
  • If your time has no value at the moment, then begin to make it so
  • Do Not Waste Time - You Can Never Get It Back

Let's do something great today! ✌🏾
IMG_1937.GIF

Sort:  

happy thanks giving man! new follower, upvoted

Happy Thanksgiving man✌🏾 Thanks! 🙏🏾

someone had to post sthg like that! resteem

Thanks!! ✌🏾😊

I have never owned a TV and don't intend to buy one ever. time is to precious a commodity to waste on such nonsense.

I hear that. I don't have cable, or satellite, but I do watch documentaries on DVD, investing, business stuff. 👍🏾

I watch documentaries and such on my computer from time to time.

A few years ago before 'Black Friday' found its way to the shores of Britain I used to laugh at the yearly news reports showing videos of Americans trampling over one another to buy huge TVs but now I find the event advertised everywhere in the UK and we see the same shit over here. If there is anything that shows just how shit and superficial the world has become it is Black Friday. You're bang on about the value of time and if more people thought like you and less were obsessed about buying meaningless 'stuff' the world would be a better place.

Yes, it's unfortunate. But hey, while they are in line, I will be making money. 👍🏾

Ha ha ha GREAT post. Just followd you ;-)

Thanks!! 😀✌🏾

Maybe they want to resell them at a higher price 😂
I see no other reason.

Lol!! I I could see that I think! 😆😆😆

Congratulations @melbookermusic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64876.28
ETH 2650.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81