✳️ Happy Birthday Jimi Hendrix🎉🎂🎉 ✳️ Lessons from the World's Greatest ✳️

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2027.JPG
Hey everyone!
Yes, I know It Was Yesterday - I didn't have this ready yesterday, but I do now 😁


I was going to title this "Confessions of a Jimi Hendrix Fiend," but that sounded a little strong 😀 I'm sure there are people, followers, collectors of Jimi Hendrix, who are way more intense than I am.

I Was Not Always a Jimi Hendrix Fan

As far back as I can remember, I loved music. Although I wasn't a fan of Hendrix in the beginning, it had nothing to do with not liking his music. I actually had not heard him until I started playing guitar in my teens. In my younger years, I listened to artists from Stax, Mowtown etc. I was not even aware of Jimi, or even other blues artists like Albert King, Freddy King, or BB King.
IMG_2075.JPG

When I started playing guitar, however, I did finally start exploring Jimi's music and guitar playing. To this day I am still amazed by his soulful playing, and his depth of songwriting. Over the years, I have tried to collect everything I could that pertains to his life, and music. I think I found some gems too. 😊
IMG_2076.JPG


Lessons From Jimi

Besides an unending wealth of guitar playing ideas, here are some inspirational life lessons from the Master.

  • Learn and incorporate bits and pieces from your mentors (or heroes) then forge something new.
    Howlin' Wolf and Bob Dylan? Who would've thought?

  • Be driven and passionate about your undertaking.
    One look at a performance from a bluesman, and you can see it. They feel every single note. They are not disconnected from the instrument, nor are they disconnected from the trials that created such emotional playing.

  • Don't focus all of your energy on the tools, focus it on the house.
    I don't recall Hendrix ever mentioning his guitars, amps, pedals, picks, etc. Maybe he did, and I am just not aware of it. Even so, it was not his focus, everything was about the music - the end game.

  • Use the bad circumstances in life as fuel.
    This one was a tough one for me to accept (still is). Those of you who have been reading my blogs may remember my mentioning that it was extremely hard getting to this point in my life. But, then I think of all the heroes I have in the blues and their stories. Take BB King, for instance. If you have seen the documentary, "The Life of Riley," you immediately understand his blues. You immediately understand where his sound comes from. In Jimi's case, he has a Bluesman's Story as well. I won't give it away, but do watch the documentary "Hear My Train A Comin' . You'll hear his life in his music.IMG_2026.JPG


In fact, that's a great quote, I think I'll use it. 😊

"You'll hear my life in my music."
IMG_2077.JPG


Let's Do Something Great Today! ✌🏾
IMG_1937.GIF

Sort:  

My favorite musician of all the time! Thanks for the post and stone free! XD

You're welcome! Thanks for reading! ✌🏾

I pray hopefully your career in the music world continues to increase comrades, good post

Thanks so much! ✌🏾

Thanks @melbookermusic for reminding us of the masters love it Rest In Power JImi Hendrix

Thanks for reading! Much appreciated! ✌🏾😊

I often hear his music before. I must say he performs well.

Yes, I love his music.

I always hear this guy's name. I better search about him and listen to his music.

Great music. Very creative. 😊

Thank you for the recommendation sir! =)

An inspiration of sincerity through the music! Thank you for the post and keep the music going :)

Thank you! I will! ✌🏾

He tough that he was possessed by spirit

Could have been the drugs - later in his career.

@melbookermusic

I love this.
I love Jimi.

I wanted to ask you if you'd be interested in participating on Humans Of Steemit?

:)

Let me know!

@ashleykalila in case you missed it, yes I'm interested in humans if Steemit. 😊 You hit a home run with that!!

@ashleykalila Yes indeed. Thank You! 😊

Oh yesss I did miss it!
Good for you to reply again :) hehehe

Get in touch with me!
@ashleykalila on steemit.chat and Discord.
Or send me an e-mail : [email protected]

@ashleykalila sounds good. I have some gigs, so I'll get back to ya sometime this weekend. ✌🏾😊

@ashleykilila Sent an email!! Excited to do this!! 😊✌🏾

You've got mail! :)

Great! I'll start working on it this afternoon. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62