Getting over the loss of a relative

in #life7 years ago

image
Losing a relative is a very sad event especially when you know the person very well and the pain is even worse if you were close. Overcoming the loss is a very nerve-wracking task. Different people have different ways to overcome the loss of a relative but most of them are not really healthy ways because we just want the pain to go away.
After the funeral of my aunt last week Friday I thought maybe the pain will just go away. But such pain just doesn't go away. So many times I have wished it was just a nightmare and a car didn't hit her. So many times I've tried to live in denial, don't want to believe she's really gone.
Like I've always done when I hear about the death of someone, I just try to believe that they've gone somewhere far and no one can see them or hear from them. But that's just denial, my own way of trying not believe someone is dead. Probably to reduce the grieve. I try to forget every memory of the person.
image
So I decided to check online to see if my method of denial is healthy but I discovered it's not. I read so many articles where they advised people to feel the pain and not live in denial. Look at pictures, remember memories of the person instead of trying to block out all the memories.
image
I also found out that talking to people (friends and family) about it also helps a lot. Instead of to bottle up feelings like I usually do.
image
Getting over the death of a relative it's not easy especially if you were very close. At times, it'll feel like the world is about to end. But the pain will surely go someday. Blocking memories, living in denial, doing drugs, getting drunk won't solve the problem, it'll only make things worse. According to many articles I read, go out, do things you like. I've stopped writing for over a week now but I'll try to start writing again and move on. If you're in pain just like me, move on and try to be the best in life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55041.56
ETH 2459.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.18