You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Science - Slow to Show What We Already Know

in #life7 years ago

Could it be that it is not a monumental assertion to you because you already follow these principles or other similar guidelines?

I think that the fact that these claims are hitting 'mainstream' backed by science is monumental. It is monumental for some, to break through some of the beliefs that hold them back from achieving their goals or desires - both physically and psychologically. Not only that, understanding that the brain is the sum of its parts/inputs and being able to systematically understand this opens the door to more holistic approaches to mental sickness and disease - and that for me will always be a monumental feat.

I can see on your blog that you are an activist? What would you consider to be a monumental assertion from your perspective, if you should make one?

Sort:  

Everything I say is monumental.. :p

I am (well, was) a scientist, so I'm a bit defensive when it comes to claims about science. I accept that it may be a novel concept for some, but to claim that this is new to science isn't correct. Clinical psychology, psychotherapy, CBT etc have been around for over a hundred years.

Epigenetics is an interesting modern extension of genetics but you have to be careful making direct claims that thinking a certain way will necessarily trigger an epigenetic switch. It's certainly possible I'd guess, as 'thinking' is nothing more than a biochemical process in the body, and as such could be part of an environmental trigger. Isolating such a thing, though, would be incredibly difficult, I'd imagine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54339.14
ETH 2284.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33