If you can't beat 'em, join 'em? - some questions for you sweet steemers

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Today in Denmark the air is cold but lightened by the freshness of the rain.

Rain has a funny way of bringing about contemplation. Maybe it's the hum it makes as it bounces from surface to surface or the intensity of which it coaxes out of color and smell.

rain_silent_shot.jpg
by: silentshot

I have long been reluctant to the technologically advancing world. If anything could make the air cold it was the vast web of connectedness that I could only be reached through a screen.

For me, the vibrant shades that colour my life had always been something more tangible, something more physical, something - human.

Computers, social media, smartphones, apps, robot operators etc. are like clouds that promise the taste of rain, yet you've never felt a raindrop on your tongue.

You can't FEEL the computer, or the person on the other side. You can't smell the pheromones or reach out for a hand.

The idea that most relationships should exist in cyberspace and that our senses should hardly be considered an asset to the equation frightened me.

I mean, it still does.

Yet, here I sit writing my next entry in hopes that I can build a relationship with you, the cyber steemit community.

I will admit, the chance of being part of a huge change, an 'evolution', if you will, intrigued. The platform also seemed to allow for all styles and types of writing as well as access to a large audience - no audition required.

And since joining Steemit - my creativity as exploded and ideas have blossomed on newly fertile ground. And now its all I want to do - write and build a relationship with you, sweet steemers.

But steemit isn't the only technological relationship that is taking over my life. Interacting with a computer on some level whether emails, facebook, instagram, university or facetime to my family back in Canada is a full time job and I don't get paid for overtime.

Now it sounds like I am complaining and thats not the point at all. The real moral of the story is not really a moral at all, but
a question, to you steemies.

How do you balance your relationship with computers and online interactive technologies such as steemit or facebook?

Do you consider your time on steemit a full-time or a part-time job and treat it as such?

How many hours do you spend on the computer a day?

How have your relationship with people and 'meeting in the flesh' changed in the past 20 years? - This question is maybe a stretch, but I am sure there are some out there, that can remember before the time of cell phones and wifi 📞

And last but not least, what brought you to steemit?

📚 📞 📟 📢

Ciao for now, sweet steemers

💚 💗 💚

Sort:  

Or never give up? :D

never give up? on what? Sorry, I don't think I quite know what you are referring to :)

I think these are important questions to be asking! I also remember the days before cell phones and I sometimes fear for the young people of today who have no idea what life was like before the internet! I still find that real social interaction is much more important than anything we can do online, but I love how technology keeps me in touch with my family and friends who I don't get to see often.

I think technology has advanced so quickly, that we haven't had time to ask these questions and really reflect on technologies impact on our lives.

I agree about the family part - It is a life safer having so many ways to keep in contact when the real deal just isn't always an option. I would be very interested in hearing how people balance their techno-worklife and real social life :) How do you do it? Do you feel it is balanced?

I personally do not have a big social media presence. I use my phone to text a lot, but I don't use much social media. When out in public, we make it a point to leave our phones put away. I can't stand watching others at restaurants and such, not bothering to talk to each other because they just have their noses in their phones. When I'm spending time with someone, I want to actually be in that moment, not lost in technology. Still, I find myself reaching for my phone when I'm alone or bored.

I run a business and facebook has become a big part of that. I have deleted the app from my phone though, so I can't be contacted all times during the day. I figure my business will run, just with the right kind of people to fuel the engine :)

I think putting away phones when with people is the only way to be. For me, that is just respect. It doesn't feel good when someone is more interested in their phone than spending time with you!

Do you play chess? I downloaded chess onto my phone, and now thats how I spend my time when I am bored haha!

I think it's wise to take a break from your business... you can't be at work all the time!!

I don't know how to play chess, but I've always wanted to learn. Maybe I should work on that.

Thank you @dragonslayer109

You have been among the sweetest steemers thus far! Thanks again :)

Thank you to, really kind of you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52