The Clap

in #life7 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1421106.jpg

The plane touched down after descending through seeming miles of dank cloud. The wheels screeched and it started to brake. The previously noisy cabin became eerily silent. We slowed to a halt. Then...

14961g67909-picsay_20170530201214074_20170601190127792_20170602184937022_20170602191908213_20170703135531546.jpg

A gigantic round of applause rolling around the cabin!! It was like a night at the proms if that means anything to anyone.

Amongst the enthusiastic clapping was even the odd cheer! We did it, we are alive! The sentiment seemed to be.

Daddy why are you not clapping?

Asked my daughter, genuinely puzzled by it all.

Because I am not a dick. I thought. Of course, that is not really a daddy answer. So instead, I settled with.

People are a bit silly lass, aren't they?

I said this loudly enough for the chattering monkeys screeching and clapping nearby to hear. But of course, they didn't.

14961g67909-picsay_20170530.jpg

They were too enthused that the gift of life had not been denied them by the plane exploding on the runway and carried on hooting and swinging from the overhead luggage compartments.

Is this a Brit thing? Does it happen in other countries? Please tell me. I would love to know that it is universal and not just limited to the daft British folk and their superstitious fear of being carried through the air in a metallic sky wagon.

14961g67909-picsay_20170530201214074_20170601190127792_20170602184937022_20170602191908213_20170703143321835.jpg

I mean if it was a universal thing to do, why did the folk manning Passport Control look so pissed off when I encouraged my daughter to clap and cheer after we made it through their rigorous screening.

Stern faced man -

Back from holiday?

Yes.

Stern faced man peered over the counter at my daughter who was looking as sweetly un-terrorist'y as possible

Your daughter?

Yes.

On you go.

Phew, that was terse.

I mean, when the bus stops near my work in the morning. I dont stand and encourage everyone into a resounding cheer for the driver. Do you?

14961g67909-picsay_20170530201214074_20170601190127792_20170602184937022_20170602191908213_20170703142722181.jpg

Although that does remind me of the time I was on a coach trip on a holiday and someone passed around the drivers hat at the end of it and it was full of fivers. I was like, fuck me, this trip cost 3 of us 150 quid and now I have to give the driver a Pam Shriver?

I should have just started a round of applause instead.

Sort:  

I remember it being the norm to clap for a good landing but now it seems to be a rare thing. My wife attempted to bring it back into vogue on our recent trip to Ireland but her initiative was met with blank stares and indifference!

Those Irish eh! A good landing should indeed be congratulated :0) It seems like all Scottish ones are now heartily applauded!

oh thank god! Why clapping. I though the romanian folks were the only inclined to such primitiv practice. For god's sake is more likely to be killed by riding almost anything but a plan ( save for the elevator, the safest public transportation vehicle ever) and I don't hear people clapping maniachally everywhere:

  • imagine clapping for ever uber, every ride, every bus stop, ever tram stop, ever bike ride, everything.
    We'd have calluses everywhere!!

Never heard of this. I fly a lot between the US and Europe/Asia.

Just wait till you are in a flight and it happens. It's surreal. Probably have to have a lot of Brits on it! Once it starts it's infectious!

It would be a hoot and a half to do that at a pedestrian crossing every time someone gets to the other side, alive and well. A lot of people here in Nederland can relate to that.

And then when they got to the otherside give them flowers and such, a medal maybe, for shown bravery.

Think it is a wee bit over the top to do that when a plane touches down though.

Tis very over the top!

I can totally get the successful crossing thing though in the Netherlands. Every time I try I nearly get rattled by a bike!!

Medals and flowers should be mandatory!

Make it so! ;-)

I wonder if in the depths of the ship away from the bridge the red shirts are all clapping like mad when they come out of warp drive :0D

Hahaha, now would that not get boring after one episode already.
"And... we're out off warp, hip hip hurray, three cheers for the captn!" =D

I can see it though! A little victory dance every time. Captain thinks its some kind of mutiny!

Oh man, that would make some great parody like episode. LOL

It would! I read a good pardoy esque sci fi novel Redshirts which was great once. Well it lost it a bit at the ending but it was still good. You read it?

Haha a good one indeed @meesterboom , thanks goodness you made it alive hiyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
The same happened during my Uni years when ever I fly to London with Ryanair ..the claps after landing sounds like lottery hiyaa`s if you know what I mean , maybe due to being grateful that all made it alive or the joy to leave the uncomfortable airline.

Will that's a good way to look at it actually. If it was the relief of getting off the plane it would totally make sense!!

I made it through the journey alive!! Hurrah! ;0)

Great, we need you here healthy and jolly. More success to you and greetings to your family.

@meesterboom , next time preform this dance for the driver instead!:

I think I could master that! It's on!!

these gifs are longer and longer..soon there will be gifmovies

I first noticed the same thing on a flight from New York to Liberia, with a stopover in Nigeria. When we landed in Nigeria, everyone began clapping. I thought it was a Nigerian thing, but others on the plane said they've seen it when landing in other airports also.

During my unappreciated work and family life, I've often wanted to go back to the standards when I was a baby. Eating, burping and pooping would all elicit massive amounts of praise and accolades.

I've always told myself those days are gone forever, but apparently not. I just need to change careers and become an airline pilot. It's a lot easier than becoming a brain surgeon, and the praise is higher.

Wouldn't that be a fine thing. I kind of wish for that too. Just finishing a good poop and a horde of people start clapping, singing and congratulating you. That would be fab.

I too have quite the unappreciated job. It would be smashing to have a clap and a cheer now and then lol!!!

I have been on several planes where people clapped at the end. You and I have quite a bit in common. I just roll my eyes.

One time I got on a bus with the same people from the plane and we took it to the terminal. When we stopped, I clapped for the bus driver. He didn't kill us either!

My wife was not amused... but I sure was!

I would have cackled madly at that and joined in with the clapping for example bus driver!

I am an eye rolling master at such stuff these days lol!!

lol - Germans are the same, when plane touch down there is a round of applause like Metallica is opening a show - silly people and i always try to explain everyone that is interested or not that this is nuts lol

It looks like you were there and managed to snap this pic!! Lol. It is nuts!

next time i really will do a video about the clapping

Clapping happens in Africa as well, I experienced it a couple of times on Borwa airlines from the Democratic Republic of Congo, but in this instance it is deserving as I think about 50% of the flights do not complete the voyage!😂😂😂

Hehe, in those circumstances I would probably clap myself!!!

Yes it is a universal thing, wont say i have been traveling so much but with the few i have been on it's the same story.
kind of thinking of clapping on my nest TRAIN trip though. wish me luck.

Oh I wish you the very best of luck. It will catch on and then we will all have to do it lol!

IKR, wouldn't that be a blast. Have a great evening or at least it is here. keep it 100.

I sure will and you too!