The Banana

in #life7 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1981875535.jpg

Christmas Eve. A time for relaxing. Perhaps throwing an insane amount of wine down your neck at an early point in the day so that everything goes smoothly... Finishing up the last few little tasks in preparation for the big day.

Yes, possibly. But seemingly not if you are a parent.

Today the good lady stood on a podium in the living room with a loudhailer and a short whip and barked orders at random intervals, mostly to me.

Daddy, there are presents under the floorboards which I hid that you will have to find and wrap for the morning!

But what about the giant rats darling? Won't they have my arm off?

The whip cracked as it snapped out and took off half my ear.

It's a chance I am willing to take.

Basement+rats.gif

I returned from the floor space, a little dusty but all limbs intact. The little lady was stamping her feet and screaming something about carrots for Rudolf.

The good lady was red-faced and trying to be diplomatic as possible in the face of a berserker. I walked past with my suspiciously disguised bag of presents and ruffled her hair with a free hand. Never mind the giant rats, for a moment I thought the little lady was going to take my hand off.

When I returned back from wrapping the house, seethed with stress. Another tantrum was being had by the little lady, something about something being HER CHOICE. I attempted to calm things down by shouting about the noise.

151352269_20171224185731234.jpg

Both the ladies of the house glared at me, alright alright, I got it. I left and organised many many more things which required to be done. Somewhere unbidden the memories of Christmas as being quite enjoyable leapt into my mind.

Oh no, not now old man.

I told myself as I dragged an elk through the snow to the firepit.

The noise from the house died down. I decided I had best go back in and assess the ostracisation levels.

I walked tentatively into the lounge. All was quiet. The good lady had poured me a glass of wine. I looked at it suspiciously. Was this it? Poison old jaded Daddy bear and collect the winnings?

151352269_20171224190041091.jpg

The little lady saw me and carefully picked up my wine glass and bought it over as if balancing on a tightrope.

Daddy, would you like to hear a joke?

Eh, yes, go on lass.

Why did the banana go to the hospital?

I don't know, why did the banana go to hospital?

.
.
.

Because he wasn't peeling very well!!

I laughed, she laughed, we all laughed and suddenly Christmas Eve didn't seem so bad any more.

151352269_20171224190204853.jpg

Sort:  

Merry Christmas to you as well as @meesterboom.

I'm very revealed to hear that the massive rodents did not have their way with you,

And a very Merry one to you too m'dear.

I survived... this time! :O)

Have a happy holidays @meesterboom !

I sure will and I hope you do too!!

If you are sea-sick (like me), eating bananas is a good idea. They are tasting almost as good in both directions.

On the other hand, never eat oranges at sea!

... and Merry Christmas to you and the good lady and the small lady and the little Boom.

I find myself quite unable to eat a banana. The texture makes me feel ridiculously queasy. The good lady can't understand it. I jave tried many times!

Then again if you are feeling sea-sick you have nothing to lose.

I hope you and the family have a great Christmas Mr C!

That's too funny. My sister thought her husband was faking it because who can't stand bananas? Then she had kids who from the very beginning couldn't stand bananas. It turns out that banana queeziness is genetic. Who could have guessed?

Is it!?!? That explains a lot!! Hehe, I can't wait to tell the good lady!!

Merry Christmas 🎁🎄 @meesterboom,

Take some time this holiday,meditation, have some beer 🍺 boom,

2018 is gonna be brighter. See you there!

I remain a humble friend @maxdevalue

I will do all of those things! I hope you do too mate!

I have to suspect it is the same place the treasures are hidden every year. :-)
Merry Christmas to you and your family

Merry Christmas to you and yours @ace108!!! It is the same place lol

Thanks. Hoho... so I'm not surprise on the place.

Definitely not, bang on first time!

Lol. I like that joke. Glad your arms survived too, that would be annoying. Merry Christmas Boom.

Merry Christmas chick!! I am might glad my arms are safe. Would be lost without them!! :0)

Merry Christmas dudester!!!

Your story reminds me when my children were small, everything had to be done and run from one side to the other to fulfill all the obligations of father, now you make it look very funny.
The party is already here dear friend, the sweet wait is over, we can say Merry Christmas !!!!!!!!
May this Christmas bring peace, happiness and happiness for you and all yours.
Pass it well beloved friend, Health

It is over, hurrah!!! I hope you and your family have a splendid day my friend!!

As you know, I love to read every your contents, but I have to say that the joke that your little lady told you is simply fantastic and I laught so much! Merry Christmas to you and to all your family, dear @meesterboom ! 🎄🎄🎄

It was a good joke wasn't it, I was surprised!! Cheers lass, have a merry Christmas!!!!

I was told a pretty good Christmas joke this year that I hadn't heard before...

How does Good King Wenceslas like his pizza?







Deep and crisp and even!

Haha, I missed this, sorry. That's excellent!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61784.55
ETH 3389.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52