Stranger Things

in #life4 years ago

54TLbcUcnRm4iYtFdzVNy1kt3F2tvRShXkTnWxjMsoavx6mmLxE29vu5LTdUEhvgviGfREPf35xcPKpoa9SxkiVXWB5Z7ShDMV8ZmxNPKmDiSZwKPEEnXVBcZbGoNgnq8ZDk7YKpa.jpeg

Surprisingly, in the past, I have written for other publications on this fine platform. Now that everything is stuffed and up in the air I have decided to reclaim my work and post it on my own blog.

Note the lack of swearing. It's hilarious being tied to rules...

Let the story begin...


Forgive the misleading header. This post is not to talk about the latest Netflix sensation where some photogenic young teens save the fictional town of Hawkins from an encroaching supernatural menace hailing from an alternate dimension. (Enough of my toilet habits.)

No, instead I would like to discuss our attitude to strangers. As in, people we have not yet met and not long-limbed monsters from the upside-down.

Today, I was returning from my lunch break when I was stopped by a wild-eyed fellow on the street clutching some manner of map.

My first thought was that he was out of luck if he was looking for Black Beard's hidden treasure as it was most surely not buried in the City Centre of Glasgow, Scotland.

FUkUE5bzkAZVVKmXhtvgKqwbwBkEW2Zw4TQ1mz82xmJYftmoe2hvTrWQS83UfjhbsdGTkQ6SCDmMojwpNb9dG29EjFduk6wZtAo97yH54ChQE5HbNSuHfAyDuuC9Wqe9QEBGcUbR6EEzhwdhRvpHq5ipiG94hFSgDhwU.jpeg

My second thought was to be on high alert. Scotland is known for many things, one of which the Scottish tourist board always tries to play down is the savage predatory nature of the urban Scots upon their fellow man.

I bounced around on my toes, readying myself for things to get a bit leery.

The chap gestured at me with his map and pleaded,

Excuse me, would you happen to know where this building is located?

Despite the fact that he had an accent as civilized as my own and was wearing a suit so sharp it was in danger of slicing a hole into another dimension, I was not so readily fooled.

I beg your pardon?

Was my wicked riposte whilst I watched his hands for weapons or movements that suggested an innate knowledge of Krav Maga.

This building old fellow, I can't seem to place it. I have an urgent appointment at two o'clock.

FUkUE5bzkAZVVKmXhtvgKqwbwBkEW2Zw4TQ1mz839oXq8eYQqdy4bRfbvmcesQB8P4hFnDfSfY9kRRPzNuWT7tRVLDCfVbNWyEL6oAqJfJUSj99RdbP68ssPR7JrFEQ15zYoGw9AD39eCh9E3eoHyxpJEkTrTJwZa9AN.jpeg

He seemed genuine enough but this wasn't my first invite to a sexy party. I leant in a little so I could see the map more clearly but far enough back that a swung sock full of coins couldn't catch me on the chin.

Ah yes. I know that one. It's down the bottom of the street there and to the right... Oops, sorry, I mean left.

I waved a brawny arm in the general direction of the place in an ape-like display of masculinity. Just to emphasise I was not to be trifled with.

FUkUE5bzkAZVVKmXhtvgKqwbwBkEW2Zw4TQ1mz839uo644cCBwWw3k6bTicTZrjQxhPCWnMbQqXnvvFaZjmCZvUDFQgXC6giKPnpcPU3xaeJEoBuGKM7xbxuz2rJ4yX6cwEk9gKiJ1fAnsEVZ5zsLgPFMmdYKboNovYn.jpeg

You mean the left then don't you?

Oho! Well, well, well my little pirate treasure hunter. If you bloody well know where it is then why are you asking? I stepped back, readying myself to unleash a bag of testosterone-fueled punchy-kicky-fight mayhem.

He stared at me. Eyes wide.

I stared back like a fox would at a casually discarded kebab.

Thanks then.

He muttered before skirting around me nervously.

I watched him go. My eyes like demented gerbils.

Soon he was out of sight. I continued my walk back to the office. On the way, I had time to reflect.

Should I be more trusting of strangers? Should I have been nicer, perhaps invited him to tea? Maybe I should have shared a joke about the time I got lost in Venezuela and ended up trapped in a bin for many hours?

Whilst I thought of these questions, I was reminded of one of my colleagues who always had time for strangers and general deeds of goodness.

Right enough he has been robbed more times than I can count.

What is your attitude to approaches from strangers? Do you think we should all attempt to be more friendly and make the world a better place? Or is the Scottish way of open hostility the only sensible response in this age of modernity?

Sort:  

@tipu curate

Cheers mate! Would have replied earlier but had a bugger of a time seeing my replies!

I'm nice to everyone unless they look dodgy. Person lost, I'll either point them where they want to go or sometimes take them at least part way if I'm either feeling nice or going that way anyway.

On the other hand there was a guy who asked if he could borrow my phone to make a call and I was like nope. But then again it depends as I unlocked and handed my phone to a young girl whose little sister had been hit by a car so she could call her parents.

Think everyone could generally be nicer (or at the very least basically polite) to everyone else as hostility and greed causes pretty much all problems xD


just buzzing around here for a bit more as I miss some of you ;D

I am all for nice!! In fact, I am normally quite the gentleman. Alas, I did not trust this fucker! Hehe

I could see the map more clearly but far enough back that a swung sock full of coins couldn't catch me on the chin.

LoL, does this mean that there is still so much cash flowing in Scotland to fill a sock?

Haha, I thought you, most of the Scottish were already living in a cashless society long time ago. };)

We are, it's all plastic. What if he was after that!! :0)

Ah, the old stranger on the street conundrum. I've had my own kicky-fighty mental battles over time immemorial about this. So nice to trust folks and be helpful, but as you say, sometimes it backfires. I tend to take the Boom Meister approach, and try to be nice, but remain full-on ready to uncoil like a dangerous viper-snake, even though, truth be told, I'm about as dangerous as a angleworm on a chill day...but THEY don't need to know that! Just puff up big like a cat's tail when bothered.

And it's all definitely situation and time of day dependent. When taking the train cross country, I always gather up my best "don't f(mess) with me" face, when entering the scary looking loo...and when biking at night, I NEVER stop to help anyone by the bike path. Bugs me to be unhelpful, but then again I've been invited to "bring your bike light and head on down through the bushes with us to the river, to look for this or that we've lost in the dark",. Yeah, GREAT idea. And then there was the guy who walked by one night with a jungle machete. That one gave me the willies as I pedaled extra fast. So, I agree, it is a real conundrum. (I must like that word.)

Anyways, great to say hello, and I shall check out your blog, when I return on here more. I still need to figure out the Hive stuff, but guess that name snafu is the newest thing. I'll wait till that gets settled.
Cheers on a Tuesday, and hope you and the family are all well and keeping your head down during the times of today. I liked your comment on someone else's post: just because you aren't old, or don't have other pre-existing conditions, respect those that are/do. And the full-on overload of the healthcare system REALLY scares the living hooey out of me. Cheerio(s), once more.

如果你喜欢 downvote,我就陪你继续,一直扩大到 hive.blog。

如果你只是错误的 downvote 我的帖子,那么我的我的报复就算到到此为止但。

但如果我再看到你的 downvote,那就意味着你正式向我宣战,我将无限奉陪到底!

I see no point in continuing. I presume you are behind the downvote trail today on all of my posts?

是你 downvote 我在前,我只是报复而已。
It's you downvote I'm in front, I'm just revenge.

但如果你要继续,我会一直奉陪,包括hive.blog。
But if you want to continue, I will always be there, including hive.blog.

如果你停止,我的报复停止。
If you stop, my revenge stops.

悉听尊便!
As you please!

复仇是一条两条路。

我不喜欢受到威胁,也不管您是否从我的职位上扣除两美元。

我说我认为继续没有意义。

现在由您决定

Revenge is a two way street.

I do not like being threatened and I do not care if you knock two dollars off my posts.

I said I see no point in continuing.

It is up to you now

我从没有效使用过 downvote,与人为善是我的准则。所以我也没有 downvote 你 hive.blog的任何帖子,虽然已经关注。
I've never used downvote effectively. It's my rule to be nice to others. So I haven't downvote any of your hive.blog posts, although I've followed you.

upvote 显然比 downvote 更好。这就是我的观点!
Upvote is obviously better than downvote. This is my point of view!

An upvote is better, it is true.

I am always nice when others are nice!

是的,你说的很对!
yes, you are right!

不打不相识!
No fight, no acquaintance!

很高兴认识你!
nice to meet you!

And nice to meet you!

:0)

I have canceled the downvote on this post. Gift to you!

Thank you, I have removed a vote too!

Interesting story. There is a kind of dark humor in there. I personally believe that you should be more trusting of strangers. After all the saying is, "Strangers are friends you haven't met." Even so, I agree, one cannot be too trusting of stranger, but after reading your story, your actions were a little bit too harsh don't you think?

They were a little harsh, I live in a harsh town though. It is not an uncommon ruse to ask for help and then attack someone for their wallet!

Its a tricky balance!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99