Sicked

in #life6 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--683703366.jpg

Have you ever had one of those days where something seems slightly wrong but you can't put your finger on it?

Today seemed like any other. Throughout the night the little boom made me and the good lady play the sleepless tag team game, parenthood.

15s28t.jpg

Eventually the dawn came and any hopes of getting more than a few hours sleep were dashed by the ridiculous notion of having to work for a living.

I had a shower and got dressed. I played with the little boom whilst the good lady made herself ready too.

As I lifted him into the sky and talked high pitched gibberish to him he puked in a gentle cascade down my front. A few months ago this would have seemed like high drama but now it is utterly normal to be sicked upon numerous times a day. In fact, on a day where I am not sicked upon I question if I am even awake.

15s28t_20180227131033213.jpg

When the good lady came down I passed him over and got changed into another shirt. Myself and the good lady had a bite of breakfast together. At one point she asked me to hold him momentarily whilst she fetched something.

Give me the little blighter!

I exclaimed like a hyperactive pirate.

I supported him whilst he stood on my knees which is his favourite thing these days. He laughed and giggled before vomiting peacefully on my shirt and trousers. He then laughed loudly in that proud I can't stop puking on Daddy baby way.

The good lady came in and saw me covered in cottage cheese sick and we shared a good laugh tinged with sleep deprived hysteria.

15s28t_20180227141250511.jpg

I got changed again, this time into a shirt and jersey.

It was nearing time for me to leave for work. I was careful when I was holding the little tyke because I was running out of clothes to change into. I gave him a hug then left to plough at the coalface for the man.

In my new basement office there are no windows and about mid-morning I turned to a colleague.

This place is smelling a bit foosty. Perhaps some damp is getting in?

Aye, stinks like feet.

He replied cagily.

15s28t_20180227144829597.jpg

I was glad that I had several meetings that day which got me out of my foosty shoebox of an office.

In one of them I struggled to concentrate on the goings on because I was knackered and seemed to be subtly haunted by the smell of baby sick.

I put it down to parenting PTSD and tried to focus. It lingered however. I quickly checked my clothing for sneaky puke attacks that I might not have noticed. Nope, all clear.

All throughout the day though, the smell was there. Just on the periphery. I became increasingly paranoid that it was me and that somehow I had been sicked on. I had to know, did I stink of sick?

15s28t_20180227145131214.jpg

Late in the afternoon I was talking to a girl who sits nearby.

Can you smell baby sick?

I asked, somewhat desperately.

She laughed. Obviously about to reassure me that no, of course I didn't and I was just being daft.

Yeah, it's all down your back behind your left shoulder.

What?!?

You mean you didn't know? We all thought you knew?

She giggled. In the same way as my daughter does when she then says silly daddy.

We all thought you knew?!?

Aaaaaaarrgh!!!!!

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @meesterboom.

Lovely story-telling...what an ending. ^__^

So sorry....what a day...haunted by _________.

Here's toasting to a better day tomorrow.

Cheers.

NB Appreciated the illustrations.......too cute.

Hehe, yes indeed. What a day haunted by that smell!

Cheers lass! I do love an illustration or two! :O)

Haha this is what parents do for their babies <3
Don't know why some kids forget all this after reaching puberty :(
I always love kids <3

They spoke be made to remember for all time hehe ;0)

Man I want Steemit to add reactions to posts or comments, that would be fun :D

It would, I am sure it will come!

Cherish that puke smell, Boomholio. I'm sure you and the good lady would miss the constant changing and the sleepless nights when the little Boom grows up to be The Mountain. In a couple of decades though, you would be able to get him back when it's your turn to be changed and to be tended to. Sweet vengeance!

I can't cherish it. In fact I remember the gladness when the little lady stopped. It was like a milestone post!! :0D

Right?! It's the only thing I'm not looking forward to once the grandbabies start arriving. But wait...! That's what their parents are for! bwahahahaaaa

Haaaaahaaahahahaaaaaa!! Completely right. Hand them back!!! :0D

Dang man you looking DRAINED!

Hopefully Steem goes to the moon SOON so you can retire!

Untitled_drawing-165.jpg

SteemFinity!!! Yes indeed! I didtry my best to lok drained but damn yeah, this little sleep malarkey is taking its toll this week!!

Yea to SteemFinity is even better than to the moon!

Good luck! Hopefully he stops puking someday. lol

One day the puke will stop!!! Hopefully!

lol I like how you added hopefully at the end.

But it might start again on teenage, especially during the weekends:)

Haha, yes, that is something to be on the lookout for!

Thank you very much for reminding me of my father's day and the bombs in the suit jacket, how many times it has happened to me and the worst thing is that you walk around all day with the little pump and nobody says anything to you, a common story in which we passed the parents.
I appreciate that you have shared this experience dear friend
I wish you a good night

That is a great way to put it. The bombs! That is totally what it is like. I will have to take more care in future so as not to look like a statue in a town Square!

Can you smell baby sick?
Yes i can smell :p
@meesterboom likes to talk to young lady? :p

I always like to talk to a young lady!

Didn't you know babies are nauseated by the smell of a clean shirt? ;P

Well, that makes a lot more sense!!! :0)

OH ow I don't miss those days. The worst ever is when you are driving and your beautiful child decides that is the time to throw up. All over themselves and the car seat. The worst part is that its not just "on" the car seat. It is all in and through the car seat creating a cleaning task that not even Mr. Clean himself is ready for. Ever so fun is the day of a pukey kid.

I have cleaned the car after those glories. It's one of the worst things i can think of to have to do!

Yup. Been through that too. You never quite get that new car smell after that happens.

That's alright. I don't think my old banger ever had it :0D

They should come with a "Do Not Hug Before Going Out" warning. Or "Do Not Approach Without DIN EN 14605 Protective Clothing".

I agree, hazmat suits required!

“give me the little blighter!!”

I love being a pirate!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47