Old Engine Oil and Plummy Beers!

in #life6 years ago

1516552138-picsay_20180127162524339_20180217171142923_20180217172116173.jpg

It's Saturday! Time to weep beers of joy and get stuck into the weekend. It is my daughter's birthday this weekend so I am quite frankly already knackered with the nonsense and quite keen to get my Saturday pick me up.

What have we got? This week we have two wonderfully dark beefy looking porters. I am hoping for a better result than last week!

Firstly

1515265869-picsay_20180113155740021_20180127183142363_20180203182246583_20180210194822885_20180217185211096.jpg

15sh_20_20180116162915511_20180118180016165_20180119152217332_20180120152621863_20180127183023572_20180203183506233_20180210194718169_20180217173354776.jpg

Old engine oil. It sounds fantastic. According to the blurb on the back it has won a gold medal at the international beer challenge. This blurb also claims it to be viscous and thick, like the engine oil of it's name. Let's see...

20180217_162430.jpg

Would you look at that? It pours an awesome black with brownish ruby-red hints. The head is a light caramel colour with bags of lasting bubbles.

Well I am impressed already. Fingers crossed that last week was just a bad dream!

As the weather has gone all Spring'y today I took a jaunt out into the garden for the tasting.

20180217_192941.gif

Flaming hot donkeys!!! It's lovely! Hurrah! I am so relieved. It really is tasty. Typical porter flavours of roastyness, coffee and a little smoke plus it had a real tantalising toffee licorice aftertaste that is very subtle but very nice.

20180217_162446.jpg

The oats in the mix give it a creamy smoothness which makes it seem milder than it is. Velvety in the mouth. This one is a keeper. 9/10 booms!

Well well well. I feel sorry for the next one. It is blatantly humped going up against the Old Engine Oil.

But what is it? A plum porter? Is it having a laugh. Plum? The only plums around here are the fruits in my cargo bay.

1515265869-picsay_20180113155740021_20180127183142363_20180203182246583_20180210194822885_20180217185244629.jpg

15sh_20_20180116162915511_20180118180016165_20180119152217332_20180120152621863_20180127183023572_20180203183506233_20180210194718169_20180217173755169.jpg

The first thing I notice is the funky bottle. It is very olde world. Might bode well.

_IMG_000000_000000.jpg

It certainly looks the part. A good deep ebony with a nice head. But is it all fur coat and no scants? We shall see.

In the time it had taken me to welly the last one down it is now raining and freezing so I am back indoors.

I taste it. Graaak!!

20180217_194500.gif

What in the name of the wee man!?!!?!

Don't get me wrong. It's not foul or completely disgusting. In fact it is slightly nice at first. Like a porter that also tastes of jam. The sweet taste compliments the slightly roasted chocolate flavor.

But after another mouthful. Then another, that plummy, jammy sweetness becomes overwhelming. Too sweet and slightly too artificial tasting. Which is a real shame because I get the impression if it had been done right, plum would go very well in a porter.

Ah well. 5.5/10 booms

I shan't let it put me off though because that first one was a cracker. I will be buying a lot more of that.

Top notch!!

Well, I wish you all a splendid weekend!

20180217_195313.gif

Cheers!!

Sort:  

Thank you for posting these Saturday night beer reviews @meesterboom.

Lovely writing, smashing illustration and live reporting.......bleujay could not help but look forward to trying the first one.....with its name we are sure to remember it .......right.....coffee, smokey, toasty.with a licorice aftertaste.....sounds splendid already.

All the best.

Cheers.

Hello!

I do love the saturday beer reviews , I have some crackers for this week. It is one of my favourite posts to do. Lol. That was a nice one. Cheers m'dear and all the very best to you!

Beers of joy! Aren't you a pun porter? Pew! Pew!

9 out of 10! Makes you wonder, what if you drank the two in reverse. Would that have pushed the Plum Porter up by at least 0.5 or would that have traquaired the Old Engine Oil?? Somewhere in the infinite multiverse, the Old Engine Oil sits in the Brewhalla along with Traquair and Cranachan Killer. But, in this one, it would have to be happy just churning in your boomish stomach. Choo choo, compadre. Choo the fuckin' choo! 7.25 average is not a bad Sabeerday!

Oh and the little lady is a year closer to the throne! Happy birthday, milady! February truly is a Month of Kings!!

You are right, if they were in reverse order perhaps another half a point would have been forthcoming. Then again, what if the plum porter scored more because it wasn't following such a good un!

OHOHOHO!! Truly a conundrum! What if the Old Engine Oil only scored high because of its age. What if it wasn't as old as purported? What if their contents have been switched, and you've been gushing about the plumness of it all this time!!

I have amended my earlier comment by adding a final line, Boomster.

Hehehe, you did indeed, It is a month of Kings indeed!!

Oh noes, what if someone is in my kitchen right now. Changing all the contents of my stuff! ;O)

Ohh fishsticks! I do think there's some truth to that but we can never know for sure!! Can we?? Should we?? Will we!?

Ohh, that engine oil sounds fantastic! Well, haha, your description of it does! I'm heading off to watch my brother play at a new brewery in Rochester in a bit, and according to what I've heard it's the best beer around so I'm excited on two fronts! And bringing mama dreemit along- she makes one hell of a DD, lol!

It is and was fantastic! I was very happy to be trying it!

Oh that sounds amazing. You gonna chronicle it and post it? Hehe, she has always beena dependable winglady in the past! Get in!!

Definitely chronicling and posting about it! That's all part of the fun :) It might take a few days, but I'll drop some pics in chat :)

Hehe, smashing. I very much look forwaard to it. Enjoy like a mofo, mofo lady!

You have found a new supplier, the local garage, they have gallons of " old engine oil" that they may pay you to take away.
The taste might vary from bottle to bottle though as it will depend whether it had come from " one little old lady, hardly driven further than around the block to that hulking great diesel truck that almost squashed you last week".
Merry tasting.

HAhah, I would go for the little old lady engine oil any day over the ten boy racers engine oil! Cheers dude!

dont know anything about you @len.george but I love your avatar. It was our high school mascot for the Coyotes!

Remember when you were a kid. Roadrunner always got away from poor Wilie,
That is my life story, use Acme gear, stuff up and try again next week,

well thank goodness, at last @meesterboom has gotten his beer review done! yes, made my day. And behold! he is trying a beer that I have already had the pleasure of tasting here in the states. Old Engine Oil, I too really enjoyed it, maybe not as much as you, I gave it a 4.0/5 on Untappd but none the less I did enjoy it. My words on Untappd you ask? "A hardy Scottish black ale"!! Cheers matey we are like beer brothers. (now if only I could get him to look at ALL my beer reviews he mussed!)
IMG-3215.JPG
Note we were having tacos that night. :)

Haha, yes indeed it was Tacos that night!

We are like Beer Brothers, that is still quite a good score. I am glad you liked it and it wasn't one that you thought was a load of old potatoes!

to be honest, I was pleasantly surprised by the taste, sometimes not sure what will be in a bottle/can from across the waters. But this one was a winner!

I always think that way about stuff from across the water too. Hehe

Ive had beers from Belhaven and Orkney related to Scottish brewers. All Ive had were pretty good.

Belhaven is not bad, they make good beers but suffer from the mass production thing. I do like an orkney beer. My two favourite Scottish ones at the moment are Fierce and Temple brewing, top notch beers from them

I’ll have to keep an eye out for those around here, any particular flavor thats best from each? I’ve only had skull splitter, dark island and red mcgregor from Orkney. And belhaven Scottish Ale c wee heavy and a couple stouts. They weren’t bad or great either

Belhaven are definitely average.

I said Temple?!?! I must have been pished. Its Tempest. Temptest do Mexicake, which is a chipotle based imperial stout. I thought it was quite lovely. Tempest do some right crazy chilli ones and others which are straight up good honest but sometimes with a twist beers. Fierce also do some whacky ones but they are well thought out too

At least one of those was an awesome beer. That is better IMO than two mediocre beers even if they were both drinkable.

Today for me it's the second time drinking this absolute beauty of a beer, a very limited edition ADSR coffee lager from Fullsteam one town over in Durham.

IMG_3909.JPG

Cor blimey, would you look at that. It even looks amazing! I will be trying to get a hold of that! A full steem cheers to you dudeski!

Sounds like an amazing way to kick off the weekend. One of the most fun things to do when you go to the beer store or the liquor store is to look for the stuff with the most interesting and obscure labels. I have had some fun nights drinking the most interesting blends of beer. The super strong IPA's always catch my attention and usually always satisfy. Here in Canada we have some strong delicious beers. If you ever get the chance try yourself a Sleeping Giant 360 Pale Ale or a Great Lakes Pompous Ass. haha My partner and I huge wine drinkers and we do the same thing. We have found some amazing wines through our adventures and some real duds. It's still a fun way to sample new wines and find new favs.

Thats what I do, I am a sucker for a label. In fact I will pick up some right mad stuff just because it looks cool and I have found some corking great beers that way! Those two sound good, if I see them I will buy em!

I and my partner are huge wine drinkers too. SAturday is like a day off the wine for me lol - Cheers!

you are a bollox making me upvote you when my 0.01c is recharging, wait , I am a bollox for waiting for my, anyway 20150620_123245.jpg
if you like engine oil, I have loads of motorbikes, so have unlimited quantity's yippee.

Mibbe not that stuff, it stings on the way out :OD

Bollox to the voting power! :OD

I have so little of the vote power, I can not run around commenting on little rep posts, and upvoting me, I know you do not, I Know some do. oh feck i, I wish I never started this convo, it leads to others.

The great thing is, when you are starting out you shouldnt give a monkeys about your vote power. In fact just spread your votes far and wide! I don't mean it in a bad way as I have been there myself but it is not worth much so just shower it where you see fit.

The time to worry about your VP is when your steem power gets up towards a thousand :O)

Lol bro them memes, honestly I care not abut my
vp, or about taking money out of here. I have no idea how to. I prefer the meeting people bit. And that includes you. in life through history you only get so many people to read, that take the ordinary out of life, and you have that skill. I admire that skill.

WEll thank you very much. That is very awesome of you to say!

hahahaha CHEERS MATE! :)

Cheers dude! :O)

The engine oil looks fine (matter of fact, really good),....... but the Plum Porter? That had to be NASTY!
By the way, you should post this in #beersaturday

Yeah, I had a feeling about the plum but thought it worth a chance!

I love #beersaturday but wouldnt want to post in it because it is best if a newbie or someone with a lower rep won the prize if you know what I mean?

thats very considerate of you. I hope detlev will be able to get more and more participants in the posts however, as he does increase it by 1 every week.

It is certainly way more popular than it used to be which is great

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95