In The Dark & Cranachan Killer Beers

in #life7 years ago

1503857487-picsay_20170902190103023.jpg

Saturday beers!!! You like my new design? I thought it needed a little pizazz.

After the epic beer night I had last night I must confess to being a little tender today. However here in Scotland we say when you are rough that nothing sorts you out quite like a hair of the dog. Puzzled? A hair of the dog is no more than... More beer! We are a predictable bunch the Scots.

I have high hopes for the beers I purchased earlier when blundering about in a hungover haze. It would be nice if they didn't let me down. So what do we have?

First up.

151956-picsay_20170901164445684_20170902190916910.jpg

20170902_183739.jpg

Raspberry pale ale? Seriously? A gentle 5.5% beer from the Fierce Brewery, it claims to be made from raspberry, honey, toasted oats and cream. Sounds quite the combination. Can they pull it off?

20170902_201230.jpg

Pours like a charm, frothy head and oh my word the smell is heavenly!

It's smooth and delightful and is the perfect beery balm my weary soul needs. The raspberry is subtle, oh so subtle but there. The beer has a lovely creaminess. This is a keeper. Heaven in a glass. Should I just end the post here? 9/10

151956-picsay_20170901164445684_20170902190852899.jpg

20170902_183727.jpg

An ominous sounding chap! This little fellow is a black IPA from the Tempest Brewery. Clocking in at 7.2%. Nice. The label claims it to have hints of pine and blackberry. Cor, it's like I am fruit daft this week.

20170902_201613.jpg

Mmm, an expanding foggy head on this chap. A fine looking depth to it. It's bitter and toasty and full of chewy toffee notes. I like it. It's night to the day of the last beer but a very satisfying one. Quite a complex aftertaste which lingers thoughtfully and makes me smack my lips. 7/10.

20170902_202056.jpg

Well it looks like the hair of the dog worked. I feel like an olden King surveying my land. Look at how happy I am. So recovered am I that the glass looks tiny in my gargantuan man hands.

Viva la beer!!

Sort:  

With the regularity of these Sabeerdays in question, I am so happy that you've picked some homeruns as of late. They shall miss you as much as you miss them, I believe. 9/10?? Cor blimey! That's the highest score you've given ever since you implemented the scoring system! That must've been one hell of a raspberry beer! I have already gone ahead and placed that on my reminders as a beer to hit.

Oh, and I fixed it for you, dude.

Lol, that's a good fixing!! It was a fine 9. Proper beer with the right amount of hint of raspberry. I was impressed that they pulled it off. Don't worry, the beers are here to stay on a Saturday!

Woohoo!! I'm glad to hear that compromise! I wonder if we're ever going to get a 10, or if 9.5 would be the pinnacle those beers would hope to reach.

I am thinking a 10 will be quite the hard thing to ever reach although I wouldn't rule it out! Perhaps it would have to be the king of beers that got that!

I'm thinking a Transcontinental Brewery whose bonds were forged with STEEM would be able to attain such grade!

Well it certainly sounds the part!! Perhaps a crowdfunding post is in order !

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @upboat.

Looking at the your face in the pic, I can say YES, the hair of the dog worked :D I just added that "when you are rough that nothing sorts you out quite like a hair of the dog." on my notes, maybe I'll use if I'll need :P

The hair of the dog most certainly did!! It's a good term for the notes, next time you visit Britain you will be able to pass for a Scot!

Good to know!! I promise that I'll try to improve my Scottish more and more ^_^

Hehe, smashing!

You are making me thirsty, my friend! Would like to have that black IPA here with me, but I haven't. So I got to get me an ordinary cool beer now! :)
Thanks for this "refreshing" post and have a great weekend!

I hope you enjoy your beer and have a great one too. I am heartily refreshed. Just have to watch I don't get too refreshed lol!

That's what I should watch too! :)

It's a fine line!! :0D


Upboat is a friendly half-human, half-robot which hopes to help promote the better posts of Steemit by trying to ensure they get the recognition they deserve.
@UPBOAT looks for numerous signals before deciding on who to UPBOAT and is likely to summon our robot friends to share some robot love with you to show affection.


I'VE BEEN AT SEA FOR 4 DAYS AND HAVE GIVEN 265 UPBOATS! PLEASE HELP @UPBOAT STAY AFLOAT ON THE STEEMIAN SEAS BY DELEGATING SPARE SP OR PATCH WATER LEAKS BY UPBOATING.

I love this salty sea dog!! Cheers!

B-u-t-Full man hands.

While driving with the missus today, we passed a chip truck. (Food truck serving burgers and fries). This particular truck was advertising cabbage rolls and poutine.

I was convinced that had I pulled over and consumed such fares, the missus would be begging me to stick with kebabs on future gastrointestinal adventures.

Hehe she might well have done!! It sounds flipping magic though. You have sparked a desperation in me to try some!!

ahhahahaa a long night of drinking last night and its time to sober up today with some beers!

You scottish dog you!

BTW I LOVE dark beers!

Dark beers rawk!! I love em both!! Although I lean toward dark when I want something chewy :0D

Ooo I like that word you used "rawk" thats cool, I may use it someday ;-)>
Always fun having a lil chat with you, you rawk hehe

Hehe, as do you. Please use rawk, it's so much more rawk than rock!! ;0)

hahahahaha so true!
Rawk On!

I think I need the hair of the dog, but where to get it here in South Africa?? I will have to settle for the cat skin or something like that!

A hair of the cat skin!! Yikes though, that sounds as if it could be an entirely different kind of thing!

So it is! A new invention

plzzzz follow me i m new on steemit...

The dog holding the pistol looks so cool, thank you for posting it here @meesterboom. Even though I am not a beer fan that those pictures make me wanna get one.

It is a cool label isnt it! Cheers dude! They are fine beers and I appreciate you dropping by!

I would have loved that black IPA!

You would, its a hearty big meaty fellow of a beer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68625.09
ETH 3746.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76