Doctored

in #life5 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART--1930676397.jpg

I was sitting, slightly bored in the waiting room at my new Doctor's. It was quite a swanky building, all tall and glass with light pishing in from all sides.

A frumpy old mare cantered up to me.

Doctor will see you now.

She intoned haughtily from a face that looked like a vagina eating sherbet.

I gave her the famed Eyebrow of Dark Renown and stood with a small harrumph.

f6w_20181019164423947.jpg

Splendid, I am a lucky man.

I followed her backstage and went into a room she disdainfully pointed at.

Hello, hello! Please take a seat!

Yelped a young chap with a lot of horsey teeth.

f6w_20181019164556050.jpg

I settled my handsome bahookie on the seat he offered.

So, what can we do for you today?

He said pleasantly.

Well, Doctor. I was running the other night and about halfway in, I felt a really sharp excruciating pain in my left foot. I had to abandon the run after that and limp home.

The Doctor chuckled.

You went what the other night?

I decided to give him the eyebrow also.

Running.

I said flatly.

What from!

Exclaimed the Doctor as if I had said something exotic, like winkle picking.

f6w_20181019164829191.jpg

I wasn't running from anything.

I said.

The Doctor tittered.

Of course not, of course not. So, you went running you say?

He asked this with a puzzled air.

Yes, running. To get fit, you know?

Ah yes, running! So, tell me then. What happened. Tell me everything.

I tilted my head to the side and examined him as if he were something fetid that I had stood in.

Well, as I said. I went for a run...

Did you have all the gear?

What gear?

I said with a little exasperation.

You know, the lycra and all that bright stuff so you don't get run over.

I paused and took a deep breath so that I didn't end up picking up his stapler and flinging it at his teeth.

f6w_20181019165151815.jpg

No, I don't have all the bright gear. I just run.

He looked disappointed. Perhaps he was thinking of selling me some tawdry yellow lycra?

I carried on.

Halfway through the run, my foot spasmed and it genuinely felt like someone had stuck a knife into it.

A knife!

The Doctor looked perturbed.

f6w_20181019165426410.jpg

Not good, no, knives, no no.

He shook his head.

Now when I walk fast or attempt to run, I get the same severe pain in my foot. It's quite annoying.

The Doctor looked perplexed and wheeled round to his computer. He tapped a few things in it and turned back to face me.

Right, I think you definitely want to rest it.

He beamed at this and looked quite pleased with himself.

Don't you want to see it?

I waggled the offending foot out in front of me from where it had been hiding under my chair. He looked down at my foot and then back up at me.

f6w_20181019165817141.jpg

Is that it?

He asked.

By this time I was on the verge of yelling and leaping over the desk to punch him soundly in the neck.

Yes.

I gritted out from clenched teeth

Is it swollen?

He made a face as if he couldn't think of anything worse than a swollen foot.

Do you want to see?

He winced.

If it's swollen I suppose I could have a look. Is it?

He looked decidedly not keen on seeing anything foot-like.

No, it's not swollen.

Ah!

He visibly brightened.

Well, if it isn't swollen, I won't have to see it. I recommend resting your foot as much as you can and if there is no improvement in two weeks come back and see us.

He folded his arms proudly over his chest.

Hmm, alright then.

I shook my head and left.

I think I might change career, this Doctoring lark seems like a piece of piss.

Sort:  

sir meesterboom! very funny but a little bit sad and frustrating at the same time but reading all the great comments mended it up!

Don't worry, I am going to see a real quack today! And the comments were indeed entertaining on this one!

the problem with a real doctor though, is it won't make an entertaining story!

That's very true, if it ain't funny it don't get written about!!

dang sir meesterboom you got some redneck in you? "if it ain't funny it don't get written about!!" that's redneck talk right there! lol.

You should have come to me sooner. I'm a doctor, you know. Just send some some photos of the problem appendage and I'll fix you right up.

Best part is that I work for tips. As soon as you feel better, you can pay me in beer, upvotes, cryptocurrency, or the preserved culinary delicacies of Scotland.

Posted using Partiko Android

The preserved delicacies of Scotland trend to be fishy in nature but you are welcome to them!

Now, I'm off to find an appendage... :0D

@meesterboom hello dear friend I'm very sorry about your foot. that doctor must be Argentine, or at least have learned the profession here. since this is how the professionals in my country behave, if you do not get half dead they do not take care of you
I would change your urgent doctor
I wish you a wonderful weekend

The next time I see him I shall challenge him on his provenance!!

What kind of doctor was that? Was he suffering from some kind of mental illness or something? He was not professional enough to handle the patient. I hoped the upper management will notice him and fire him straightaway. Upvoted!

I wonder if he was just some corn that had wandered in from the street!

Doctors know jack. Bypass the middleman and go straight to a physio.

I am thinking exactly that now!

But what kind of doctor is that inefficient? That you do not need to see it because you have the foot swollen that seems a joke you must have some problem in the tendon probably the best thing is to look for another doctor if you really know what you do

I might just cut it off!! To hell with it, I say!!

Phew. I would change doctor immediately. How can you tell that there is nothing wrong unless you double check. Imagine if you have a fracture or something. Come back in two weeks. Just don't get sick or have something bad happen because two weeks could be a death sentence.
My doctor is the opposite and struggle to get out of the room. But then again it's obviously down to my good looks and dashing smile and she is a woman of fine taste.

It always comes down to them good looks! ;O)

I have other doctors. It's one of those places that you can have one of three but now it looks like there is four. The others are great so Iwill just make sure to get them in future!

hehe it just doesn't pay to go to the doctor anymore. If you would have shoved your foot up his ass you may have come away feeling slightly better :)

I shall put that on my todo list for next time!

And that right there sums up why I don't do the doctor thing anymore, bunch of used car mechanics they are, charge an arm and a leg for something I can damn well figure out on my own haha!

Google, once you filter out the scary bahjina results seems to be better on average!

It is! Seriously! :0)

Your doctor looks really a strange Doctor! Maybe he's THE Doctor? Wait, the 12th Doctor was the Scottish Peter Capaldi! Have you seen if there were a blue police telephone box (bigger on inside) parked outside? If yes, you have no change the doctor! :P

Hahaha!!! If it was that doctor then he would be forgiven!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62710.59
ETH 3048.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77