Bear Huggin Double Denim Beers!

in #life5 years ago

151655sh_20180512105404503_20191019111239427.jpg

Bears that hug and Denim that doubles, what in the name of himjiminy!?!

It's quite simple, it's

fuff7f_20191009120449521_20191015172923013_20191016165019629_20191017155625116_20191019181317534.jpg

Just when the world seems as dark as the skid marks a sad old incontinent dog with only two front paws leaves on a carpet, amazing beers come along and smash through the clouds with their golden song!

The first one is the splendidly named Bear Hug. A beer that put the literal frighteners on me when the owner of the beer shop I frequent who I call the Bear-Man asked if I wanted a hug.

I could have gone quietly into the night but no. I stood and braved what was to come...

And it was only a beer!

So let's try this strong big bastard of a thing!

g517336-picsay_20191019172146108.jpg

I have never heard of Mobberley Brewhouse before, a good sign. I like to try a new brewery.

This hug of a beer is an Imperial Double IPA. I mean that's a fucking tongue twister. What does it mean? Does the Imperial bit imply Russia? Does that mean this beer is going to try and interfere with an election?

Or an erection...?

Whoa, boy. This is all getting too wild!

Let's pour!

20191019_165757.jpg

Hot donk, a rusting orange like a bin fire gasping its last breath at the dawn of a new day.

It looks like the most appetising beer I have seen in a long time!

A yeasty big load with mango and pineapple fruit bursting into my mouth like a clumsy elephant-dentist's fingers. The hops are strong as donk. It is undoubtedly an IPA. It is rather an amazing IPA!

Complex beer, with added sunshine and punchy alcohol. What's not to like? 8.5/10 booms!

I did like that hug!

Next!

g517336-picsay_20191019172442514.jpg

Double Denim. I have waited a week for this one. It's a barley wine style beer. I know, I know. After the last two frankly disgusting barley wine styles I tried, I vowed never again.

Well, it turns out that never in the old Norse tongue of Gafuisj means in the storm, fish leap.

Pretty profound eh? And with that in mind, why wouldn't I trust the old Tempest Brewing with this one!

20191019_171050.jpg

Dark brown, with a small head. A bit like a Cocker spaniel. It stinks of smoke. Reeks of it, like a chimney burning wood made out of beer.

Disconcertingly, it looked like there were lumps slithering out of the neck whilst I was pouring it.

Feel a bit feart!

Oh my god man, what is this!? It's like burnt treacle with added smoke. It almost tastes like whisky. This is how I imagine the mud on a battlefield to taste.

Don't get me wrong though. If you go slow and savour it whilst thinking of roses it's quite good.

Almost like smoky, beefy, peaty whisky.

Almost... 8/10 booms!

Well, I'm off to get smashed. That's right, I am off out tonight fuelled by double Denim and hugs, hurrah!

Have a good weekend everyone and see you on the other side!

20191019_164814.jpg

Cheers!

Sort:  

Is it Saturday again already?! I've hardly recovered from the 4 sampled last week. Out with double denim and hugs - has it not been like that for the past 30 years Boomy? :)

Very different looking beers today, but seemingly both have merit - 8+ booms out of 10 merit, grand! I think i'd side with wanting to taste the Bear Hug over the petrol - maybe just a sniff though. Cheers!

I believe it is that time again although it's quite hard to focus now. . Lol l, the bear hugs would win over the last smoky bastard I reckon. The more distance I g5ave from it the less I am in its spell!

LOL One of the best reviews yet! I thoroughly enjoyed the reviews, though I am wondering why every Saturday I'm left feeling like I should be adopting something, this week being a sad two legged dog leaving his legacy of skid marks everywhere he goes <3 Bless his heart!! lol

Have a great weekend!

Go find that dog. That poor shitty little beast and adopt it!!!

Hehe, cheers lass :0D

This an auto comment that is generated when the account for skramatters has not engaged with your content in more than 7 posts. If you feel you have received this comment in error please contact customer support. Skramatters would like to personally thank you for your contributions but doing so requires a human touch that this platform doesn’t currently value and therefore you will have to enjoy this automated response.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Auto comments for the win!!!

Even better when using the defunct Partiko!!! ;0D

I can smell that barley wine all the way over here in Canada. It's that, or someone is burning garbage again.
buh dun tss!

Or maybe I fearted.

At least the oak was a virgin.

I do like my oaks untouched :0D

I tell you, the sink from that seconds beer. Like the funeral pyre of the Michelin man or something rubbery and petroly!!

Maybe they added in some of those automobile exhaust pipe drippings you'll maybe sometimes see at a red light, unless that's just a Canada thing.

I've seen them!! I really have, every time I see them I think, hey, how come your exhaust salivates and mine doesn't!?

Your my go to beer guy! ... I’m going to be go to guy for vodka 😂😂😂

31B5DF9B-FA67-47E6-BCC8-C2C339FCCD6A.jpeg

Oh fucking hell man, that looks awesome!!! Type the vodka man!!!! :0)

😬😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

How does this work? Do you literally taste them and make the post before you're half cut? Cos if I wrote a post after 2 beers it would not be overly coherent.

I write the intro before the tasting then taste and write as I go. It makes me creative! :0D

Clearly you enjoyed both enough to high score and get smashed on them but you seriously did not make the second one sound particularly appetising 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm still confused by the second one. I rated or quite well but in the child light of day in not sure if I totally liked it!!!

Cheers

Posted using Partiko Android

Big cheers to you!

Been busy so time to catch up on your posts and see what you have been up to. Good to see you getting kicked in the nuts by some strong beers. That last one looked lethal.

Lol. How do dude!

Yeah, that last one. I will don't really know if I liked it. I thought I did but it has been weighing heavily on me. I think it might have been shit, almost literally!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61665.59
ETH 2884.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62